Best Router?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by seanbts, Oct 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. seanbts

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi All,

    We currently us a sonic wall tz170 in our office which is causing us issues with 3rd, I'm looking at replacing the tz170 but am looking for recommendations that will work fine with 3cx, any recommendations?

    Cheers
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,368
    Likes Received:
    228
    May time the basic routers (read inexpensive) work just as well as the pricey ones. Of course if there are specific features ( types of wireless) you are looking for, then you'll pay more
     
  3. seanbts

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Don't really need any mad features, just looking for makes that will work with 3GS and do full cone nat
     
  4. sunstate

    sunstate Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://www.3cx.com/forums/what-s-your-favorite-firewall-15225.html
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. seanbts

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks but it says I'm not authorised to read that forum?
     
  6. sunstate

    sunstate Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, sorry. Didn't notice that was in the Partner forum. Here are the recommendations that came out of that thread:

    Cisco ASA55xx
    Dlink DFL-xxx
    pfSense
    Mikrotik 450G

    For pfSense, there were a couple hardware recommendations as well.

    Supermicro's 1u barebone (Intel Atom)
    Netgate appliance

    I was one of the pfSense recommendations. The majority of the time I use Netgate's 3 eth appliance. The only time I use different hardware with a full install is when I need more then 3 interfaces and/or more power.

    http://store.netgate.com/Firewalls-C2.aspx
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. seanbts

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Great thanks for this info
     
  8. seanbts

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Again,

    Actually is there any way to get the tz170 to work, when I run the firewall test I get responses with translations?
     
  9. danoh

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Endian is a good free linux-based firewall. http://www.endian.com

    Support SIP proxy'ing too if you need it.
     
  10. semn

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I using Cisco ASA5505 without any issue. i definitely recommended an ASA55xx box it's very stable and i don't had any issues 3cx related.
     
  11. redorum

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Danoh - how did you get 3cx to work through endian? You don't get 1 way audio? What version of endian (2.4.1?)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    The MikroTik line is quite excellent. You can start with a 750G or upgrade to a 450G. All of our satellite offices are on the 450G. Use EoIP for the phones if you have any need to bridge locations. No overhead, easy setup.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.