• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Best wifi phone for Multiple WAP environment

Status
Not open for further replies.

PCHOSP

Reaction score
I will admit, I am a VOIP newbie! I have been messing around with 3CX (free edition) and 2 Linksys WIP-330 wifi phones. My wireless network is only one SSID, but has about 14 WAP's around the building and on different floors. I believe I have more than ample wireless coverage in the areas I am testing. I am having an issue with the WIP-330 staying connected to the AP it initially assosiated with until it gets out of range, then it drops the call. You then have to either reboot the phone, or wait until it re-scans and finds the network again via another access point. Obviously, this won't work! My question is: I was wanting to know if anyone out there has had similar issues, and what model wifi phones are the best for this type of enviroment. My access points are all Cisco Aironet 1200's using 802.11G. 128-bit WEP security, and some of the WAP's have the SSID hidden.( I would like to keep it that way.) I also have local MAC address authentication activated on each WAP. I have ensured that the phones' MAC addresses are in each WAP.

I am trying to get this working so I can propose purchasing the Pro edition of 3CX, a VOIP gateway, and more phones. This is for a communications project that requires communication anywhere in the building at any time.

Thanks,

David

Does a laptop stay connected the entire time? What I'd recommend is turning off all the security and trying it. If it still doesn't work does it stop at a certain AP or is it all of them? If it does work then try turning a low end security and see if still works. Maybe it's too secure?
Also check the firmware of the 330 - make sure it's up to date.