Solved Beta of Multi Line TAPI for Terminal Services

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Bianca, May 31, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bianca

    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    13
    Continue reading the Original Blog Post.
     
    #1 Bianca, May 31, 2017
    Last edited: May 31, 2017
    jed likes this.
  2. tratz

    tratz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    16
    One question. Looking at the docs, you would have to know offhand which user is connecting to which terminal server session for this to work. Not all TS servers have static sessions and they could change, is there a way or would we have to script the modification of that file on every login so that it stays accurate?

    --Tracy
     
  3. ivank

    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6
    The session id in the docs (perhaps, it could be better called "line id" there) has nothing in common with the session of TS.
    It doesn't matter to which TS session the user has been logged in as long as his provisioned 3CXPhone extension corresponds to the extension in the .ini file for the line ID which this user has selected to use in his TAPI application.
     
  4. healthy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have this installed, but it isn't working. In my application (ConnectWise) I have the following options:
    3CX for Windows TAPI driver
    1, 111, name
    2, 222, name 2
    3, 333, name 3
    etc..

    If I choose my extension from the list .. the dialer doesn't work. If I choose 3CX for Windows TAPI driver, a random user's extension starts ringing... any ideas would be most appreciated!
     
  5. ivank

    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6
    healthy, are you absolutely sure all of the phone clients have been updated with new TAPI plugin?
    Also, you need to uninstall previous (single) 3CX TAPI driver before installing multiline (it should be detected at install time).
     
  6. healthy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    I will look in later today once everyone is off the terminal server. I believe I followed the directions, but I don't recall removing the old TAPI driver... I'll give that a shot after-hours.

    Thanks,
    Scott

     
  7. healthy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    I uninstalled all 3CX software on the terminal server, rebooted and installed just the multiline TAPI, which then prompted to install the 3CX Phone application as well. Now when going to look at TAPI settings, I get the spinning circle wait indicator and it just hangs. If I attempt to check via the dialer application, it just hangs with not responding.

    Server is Server 2016 with Remote Desktop Services Roles installed
     
  8. ivank

    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6
    Please, set to 1 this parameter in the registry:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\3CX\3CXPhone for Windows\TSPLogEnabled

    Reboot the machine and start the dialer. When it hangs, take "c:\ProgramData\3CXPhone for Windows\Logs\3CXTapiSP.log" and post it here (or via personal message directly to me). I will try to find out what's going on.
     
  9. healthy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry for the delay. I was finally able to reboot that server and have tested the dialer. I will send to you via private message.
    Thanks!
     
  10. safemode

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Ivank,

    we have the exact same setup as Healthy running Windows Server 2016 with RDS role, however we are trying to use the TAPI through Act!, have you had any luck looking into this, we are happy to enable the logging and PM the logs to you as well if you would like?
     
  11. ivank

    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hello safemode, please do so.
    Please also describe if you had single line installed, was it uninstalled or not, etc (just the major milestones that led to the current situation)
     
  12. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    153
    We have issues if the previous tapi driver (single line) was at least one time installed. They are not compatible.

    A) Uninstall 3CX Plugins
    B) download and run this tool from command line (This is a cleaner that cleans remnants from your machine left behind by the old Tapi installation setup) Download from here: http://downloads.3cx.com/downloads/misc/3CXTAPICleaner.exe
    C) Now you can install the multiline tapi installation.

    PS Tapi is very picky so yes - this problem is a valid one - the single and the multiline tsp providers cannot co-exist together

    This is how it has to look when you run it - see below. There should be 1 3CX Tapi provider named 3CXTapiSrvProvML.tsp
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #12 nb, Jun 26, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2017
  13. ivank

    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6
    How to use the tool
    • Open command prompt on behalf of Administrator.
    • Launch 3CXTAPICleaner.exe, it will show you the list of all TAPI providers installed (3CX and third party as well) with their IDs and a short usage reminder. Each single line provider of 3CX has a name of 3CXTapiSrvProv.tsp, and multiline is named 3CXTapiSrvProvML.tsp.
    • If only 3CXTapiSrvProvML.tsp is there, you're fine and don't need to do anything.
    • If there are several 3CX providers listed, you need to remove all but the last one installed. For this, run 3CXTAPICleaner.exe with /all key. It should remove all TAPI 3CX providers except the active multiline provider. Launch 3CXTAPICleaner.exe again and examine the updated list. You should see only one 3CXTapiSrvProvML.tsp listed.
     
  14. safemode

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    We have run the cleaner as per the instructions but still have an issue. Please see the attached error message and log files.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. nb

    nb Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    153
    Can you send us details to connect to the machine? PM me..
    We will connect and check what the problem is.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. ivank

    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6
    @safemode, what version of 3CXPhone are you using? Please, check.
     
  17. safemode

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    @ivank the 3CXPhone version is the latest I believe, 15.5.1694.0

    @nickybrg Do you just want the details to access the 3CX system or actually get onto the terminal server?
     
  18. ivank

    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6
    Could you, please, locate the following files and send them as a PM to me?

    %APPDATA%\3CXPhone for Windows\Logs\3CXPhoneForWindows.log
    %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\3CXPhone for Windows\PhoneApp\3CXWin8Phone.user.config
    %ALLUSERSPROFILE%\3CXPhone for Windows\PhoneApp\3CXPhoneTapiPlugin.dll
     
  19. safemode

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    have sent you the files via "conversation", I assume this is the equivalent of a PM, sorry never done it since the new forum got setup :)
     
  20. safemode

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    @ivank has sent through a new DLL file that resolves this issue, thanks for all your help :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.