Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

In Progress Better UI for BLFs - Queued for Development

Discussion in 'Ideas' started by jbryant84, Jan 31, 2017.

In Progress Better UI for BLFs - Queued for Development 5 5 108votes
5/5, 108 votes

  1. jbryant84

    jbryant84 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    40
    Right now the blf ui is very plain, and can be cumbersome. If you miss one or have a duplicate you have to start from the point you screwed up and roll your changes out all the way down. It would be great if there was an option to insert or delete rows, and line numbers would be nice too, even if it was every 10.
     
  2. nasaw

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    4
    I agree, BLFs in general need a thorough makeover.

    The Move Up/Move Down buttons already exist in the inbound/outbound rules section. Just need to re-purpose it for the BLFs
     
  3. eli

    eli

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. two

    two

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    7
    Great point! Especially when there is over 50+ and your client wants a specific order on ALL 50+ sets. Time consuming and frustrating!
     
  5. Jazz Oberoi

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    +1

    Also, have an option to start adding the BLF's on the expansion modules (like EXP40) instead of the integrated phone.
     
    Brad Cann and Scott Coleman like this.
  6. techclarity

    techclarity New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    50
    Or better yet, offer a customized page layout for supported phones that matches the BLF layout of the phone. This would make it real easy to configure and view what the phone will look like.
     
    the60 and Scott Coleman like this.
  7. the60

    the60 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    61
    BLF "templates" for different departments would enable fast, easy & accurate BLF key assignments to new endpoints. (accounting gets layout A; shipping gets layout B, etc.)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. jbryant84

    jbryant84 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    40
    When setting up a new extension, you have to start from scratch. You can't copy from one extension to another. That would be great as well. However the more simple request is the more likely it is to get implemented
     
    Scott Coleman, two and parachutech like this.
  9. solutionsit

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    5
    BLF now in version 15. With sidecars on a yealink you need to add 27 blfs to get the side car. Which is fine. 2 things would help. A number beside the blf spot as well as adding blfs in blocks instead of one by one.
     
    jbryant84 and Scott Coleman like this.
  10. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    273
    We can add copying BLF from another extension ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    two, the60, yanceyworks and 1 other person like this.
  11. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,553
    Likes Received:
    300
    yes- copying BLF's from another - or "Create Extension from Template" - the template would have specific settings and BLF's configured.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Matthew Domer and Nick Galea like this.
  12. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    273
    OK, let us research this and see how we can make this happen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. wcoggins

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    16
    I agree with everything noted about the BLFs so far. The method of administering the BLF keys has gone BACKWARDS in functionality.
    Having to count spaces on a screen instead of having BLF keys numbered is silly. What happened in the last version?
    Being able to copy a BLF map from one extension to another is very useful. The old 3COM phones showed an actual map of the BLF key positions.
    All these things make it much easier to administer the 3CX system thus allowing customers to get the End User wants. The quicker and easier it is to administer these systems the easier it is to sell. More sales = more Money!
     
    countrycomp and two like this.
  14. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,553
    Likes Received:
    300
    Nick - while you are looking at this - would there be an opportunity to add a BLF for Paging Extensions?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Parker likes this.
  15. user253831

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    We´d appreciate research on this, since provisioning BLF of phones is hell (even with 10 or 20).
    Especially when you want to sort the BLF buttons in alphabetical order.
    And when a new employee joins (or leaves) you have to edit ALL extensions and re-provision EVERY telephone to roll out the new blf setting.

    Editing the phone template with fixed BLFs buttons is a workaround, but also painful and can lead to problems. And with every config-update 3cx provides, you always have to customize it again and again (when you don´t want a separate profile).
     
    #15 user253831, Apr 25, 2017
    Last edited: May 3, 2017
    countrycomp, yanceyworks and nasaw like this.
  16. Samuel Fishman

    Joined:
    May 4, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
  17. two

    two

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    7

    Nick this is one of the most cumbersome parts of companies with continual change. Its very time consuming without insert, add, move up/down capabilities. Any assistance in speeding this change would be greatly appreciated!

    Neil
     
    CentrexJ likes this.
  18. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    273
    This is an area that has our attention and once we have our SP1 out of the way we will be able to focus on a major update in regards to easier, more centralized and more configurable IP Phone configuration
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. sysadmin_at_lca

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Having the ability to move up/down/insert/delete would be great.

    If it went further and we could:
    - build a "template" that said Button1=Line, Button2=SP1, Button3=SP2, Button4=Queue In, Button5=Queue Out - call the template "Site A"
    - be able to apply the BLF template to extensions as you add them.

    So when you commission a phone for Site A I can choose the template "Site A" and know they'll get the standard buttons I want them to have (including the 2 shared parks that relate to their specific site).

    Going a step further if you added to the template:
    - timezone, date and time format
    - outbound caller id
    - voicemail and forwarding defaults
    - options

    And each of these items in the template would be:
    - mandatory - you get this and can't change it
    - default - you get the setting when the extension is setup, but can alter it after
    - not set - use system default/blank
     
    jbryant84 likes this.
  20. carbm1

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Any updates on this?

    Manually programming in 30/40 intercom buttons on an expansion module is getting old. Especially trying to keep it in alphabetical order when some one new comes in. I can't just move the whole list down. I have to copy and paste several dozens times to move things around.
     
    yanceyworks likes this.