Branch Office configuration.

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by asimpson, Aug 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. asimpson

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm considering 3CX - have heard good things from friend using it. But they don't use branch office.

    We only have 2 employees, and would consider buying the Small Business Edition for the additional features at our store. I would like to "branch office" link it to my home -- so that I can answer calls and have calls forwarded to me when I'm at home (just like when I'm in the office). I was wondering if I can buy the Small Business Edition and link it to a free edition so that the free edition could be at home. Would that work?

    If so, would I be able to use the commercial edition features from the free home phone system box linked to the paid commercial "small business" version at the store?

    I was wondering if I could eliminate phone company lines at home, and make/receive phone calls at home as an extension of the store phone system. Can anyone answer these questions for me and tell me if it would work?
     
  2. amygoda

    amygoda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello ASimpson,
    Welcom to the community
    all your needs is very easy to 3CX system
    you'll need only one server
    to use bridge in case of 2 servers you nee paid version in both
     
  3. asimpson

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do not understand. Why would I only need one server to handle calls at two separate physical locations?

    I have one line but two phones at home, and expect one or two lines plus two extensions at the store. Can you explain how this would work with one server?
     
  4. amygoda

    amygoda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    With vpn you work at the secon place as you're in the first place
    one server enough for your requeres
     
  5. asimpson

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm starting to understand. But, I have a question about 3CX establishes the connection for remote stations...

    Does 3CX handle creating the VPN (I saw something about a mini VPN in 3CX) and if so, doe it need a PC to be up and running at the remote office to establish that vpn? (Would that be a software client program running on a pc to link the VPN)? Or can 3CX establish the VPN with an IP phone directly so that the phone is always on the system. [I'm concerned that if a pc is required, it might be turned off and the remote extension might not receive calls]

    If an IP phone is all that is needed for the remote location, then I'm assuming I would just have to configure the firewall to pass through the port for the 3CX vpn directly to the IP phone. But if that is the case, does that mean I can only have one phone extension behind that firewall (since I could not pass the port through to another IP address)? If so, that's ok -- I could probably deal with that, but I need to understand how it works to plan it.

    Also, would I need any sort of gateway device (other than just my broadband router and the IP phone) at the remote location?
     
  6. amygoda

    amygoda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    The best way is by vpn router
    3CX has a vpn
    3CX Voip client can connect vpn to the server using you home pc
    Then ip phones use this pc as outbound proxy

    The best solution at all: manage your nat to connect the ip phones directly to the server

    You can use more than ip phone behind the firewall on 5060 port
    Or range 5060-5070
     
  7. asimpson

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Clarification: You say best way is by vpn router, then you say best way of all is by managing NAT to connect IP phones directly to server.

    I think I'd like to connect IP phones directly to the server via nat through the firewall (but I don't know how 3CX operates).. are you saying if I did that I would NOT need an addtional VPN router, but could somehow have 3CX connect over the web to the URL (or static IP) of my home firewall and I could nat specific ports directly to the IP phones?

    If YES, then that would not use vpn (would it be secure/private)? If NO, then how do I nat to the phones from 3CX?
     
  8. amygoda

    amygoda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Matt,

    Very nice explan and compare

    I want to add
    in vpn mode: you can use direct connect when you need beside the vpn
     
  9. asimpson

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you all. That is the information I needed.
    Very good explaination Matt.

    I appreciate the help.
     
  10. asimpson

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    One more quick question... If I wanted to use an analog phone at the home office, what device would you recommend to connect it as an IP phone to the network? Would a gateway device such as Linksys SPA 3102 work for that?
     
  11. amygoda

    amygoda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes it is
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.