Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Call a number by connecting to 3cx via GSM

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Albert464, Jan 13, 2019.

  1. Albert464

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    Is it possible to call a number by connecting to the switchboard via GSM?
    Example:

    Mobile calls 3CX, enter the number to call and 3CX calls the desired number with the Trunk.

    In this way I hide my cell phone number.
     
  2. SMF Media

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Albert464 likes this.
  3. eddv123

    eddv123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,609
    Likes Received:
    209
    Albert464 likes this.
  4. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,783
    Likes Received:
    564
    Hello @Albert464

    If i understand correctly you want to call into the system with your GSM number and use the system to forward the call and present the systems caller ID. If that is the case then you can do this but you will need to answer the call and then forward it manually to an external destination. Your trunk should also be configured to present the present the correct caller ID.
     
  5. Albert464

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly, I would like to call my 3cx via a GSM line, that a voice asks me what number to call and that the switchboard will call me by connecting to the recipient so that the number of my GSM line is masked
     
  6. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,783
    Likes Received:
    564
    Currently the only way this can be done automatically is through the voicemail service of the extension. You will need to create an inbound rule to point you either directly to voicemail or to an IVR and use direct dial to reach the voicemail extension. You can then navigate the menus to dial out. Not as straight forward as you would want it to be but possible.
     
  7. Albert464

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to do as you say, but when I press the 3 button inside the voicemail, a voice tells me "Call prohibited by the administrator"
     
  8. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,783
    Likes Received:
    564
    Sorry about that, i forgot to mention that you need to enable this option by navigating to Settings / PBX and enable the option "Enable Outgoing calls in Voicemail Menu"
     
  9. Albert464

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2017
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you @YiannisH_3CX
    I'm trying but I get this error in the logs and the call does not start, what can it be?

    Code:
    15/01/2019 17:32:58 - Call to T:Line:10001>>349XXXXXXX@[Dev:sip:50XXXX@sip2.XXX.it:5062] from L:69.1[Line:10002<<340XXXXXX] failed, cause: Cause: 603 Decline/INVITE from 77.XX.XX.X:5062
    Code:
    15/01/2019 17:32:58 - [CM503003]: Call(C:69): Call to <sip:349XXXXXXX@sip2.XXX.it:5062> has failed; Cause: 603 Decline/INVITE from 77.XX.XX.X:5062
     
  10. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,286
    Likes Received:
    361
    Are you dialling the number in the same format, as would be dialled from the extension? This includes any required prefixes. It may be that your outbound rules, are not selective enough, to prevent incorrectly formatted numbers to be passed on to the provider. It would seem to be declined by your provider.

    If the outbound number is correct (compare a failed call with one from the extension for the same number), then it might be an outbound caller ID issue.
     
  11. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,783
    Likes Received:
    564
    It does look like the provider is declining the call. As @leejor mentioned make sure that the format of the number dialled is correct. If the issue persists perhaps your provider can tell you why the call is declined so you can make the appropriate adjustments.