call disconnects after +- 30 seconds

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jwnesbitt, Sep 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jwnesbitt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI

    I have got my system working on a remote location and it connects and works fine

    only thing is, if i phone a normal landline, the calls drop at around the second mark. If i call one of the extensions (at a different location), i can talk for a couple of minutes

    Is there a setting that I am missing ?

    thanks

    Jody
     
  2. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    This sounds more like a network problem. If you have enough packet loss you can experienced dropped calls. But there is no setting for disconnecting calls like that. I would look at the system resources on the system you are using and the network reliability first.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jwnesbitt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Kerry

    When you say system I am using, is that the Server, or the remote workstation that I am making the dropped call from ?

    Thanks

    Jody
     
  4. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would look at the server first. Something, somewhere is causing the drop. In order of most common things I would look at would be:

    Network performance / internet latency / packet loss
    Switches / hubs
    Server resources
    Is the bahavoir the same for softphones and hard phones?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jwnesbitt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have only tried with a softphone at the remote location, will try a hard phone tomorrow morning

    thanks again

    Jody
     
  6. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,758
    Likes Received:
    286
    Are the extension to extension calls dropping after a couple of minutes? Is the time of the drop consistent? What is voice quality like? What PSTN gateway are you using?
     
  7. jwnesbitt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi
    I am not using a PSTN Gateway

    only using a VOIP provider

    Extension calls are fine, even the ones across 3 different locations (ie: my office to my mothers house via my home server), its just the outside calls that drop. They all drop around the 27 - 30 second time. It is every call to a land line that I tried

    Voice quality is a bit scratchy, but i put that down to using Hamachi to form the VPN between by laptop and server at home
     
  8. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    If calls between extensions are working between the remote phone and the local office phone and only calls made to the VoIP provider are dropping then I want to clarify if this is only happening when calling out from the remote phone or even from phones within the local network? If you are already experiencing some call quality issues due to Hamachi (no surprise there) then compounding that with a marginal connection to the VoIP provider could be the overall cause.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. jwnesbitt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Have just tried it on my home network, so all on the internal 100MB connection (all wired) to my home landline, and it drops the call around 28 seconds.

    I have also tried 2 different VoIP providers with the same result, i thought it may be one of the providers that was causing the issue.
     
  10. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,758
    Likes Received:
    286
    The 3CX logs should show which end terminates the call.
     
  11. jwnesbitt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi

    checked in Server Logs, is there another log i can check ?

    just says
    08:02:15.375 [CM503008]: Call(8): Call is terminated
    08:02:15.375 [CM503008]: Call(8): Call is terminated
     
  12. Nick Galea

    Nick Galea Site Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    241
    If its always around 30 seconds and only on calls via a VoIP provider then its clearly a firewall issue or something relating to the firewall / type of voip provider being used.

    Ensure that your system passes the firewall check. Ensure that you are using a supported voip provider at least for testing and static IP...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. jwnesbitt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Nick

    Thanks for teh help

    The server is set on a static Internal IP

    I disabled the firewall and it still does the same. I'll run the firewall check when i get in

    Ill also setup a supported VoIP provider when i get in to test with
     
  14. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    What firewall are you using?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. jwnesbitt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    results from firewall checker

    hecker.html

    <15:04:38>: Phase 3. Check Port Forwarding to TCP Tunnel port, please wait...
    <15:04:43>: TCP TUNNEL Port is set to 5090. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 3 check passed.

    <15:04:43>: Phase 4. Check Port Forwarding to RTP external port range, please wait...
    <15:04:53>: UDP RTP Port 9000. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-01 check passed.
    <15:04:57>: UDP RTP Port 9001. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-02 check passed.
    <15:05:02>: UDP RTP Port 9002. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-03 check passed.
    <15:05:02>: UDP RTP Port 9003. NO RESPONSE received. Phase 4-04 check failed with ERRORS. Some functionality will be LIMITED. For more information, please visit http://www.3cx.com/support/firewall-checker.html
    <15:05:06>: UDP RTP Port 9004. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-05 check passed.
    <15:05:11>: UDP RTP Port 9005. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-06 check passed.
    <15:05:15>: UDP RTP Port 9006. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-07 check passed.
    <15:05:20>: UDP RTP Port 9007. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-08 check passed.
    <15:05:24>: UDP RTP Port 9008. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-09 check passed.
    <15:05:29>: UDP RTP Port 9009. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-10 check passed.
    <15:05:33>: UDP RTP Port 9010. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-11 check passed.
    <15:05:38>: UDP RTP Port 9011. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-12 check passed.
    <15:05:42>: UDP RTP Port 9012. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-13 check passed.
    <15:05:47>: UDP RTP Port 9013. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-14 check passed.
    <15:05:51>: UDP RTP Port 9014. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-15 check passed.
    <15:05:56>: UDP RTP Port 9015. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-16 check passed.
    <15:06:00>: UDP RTP Port 9016. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-17 check passed.
    <15:06:05>: UDP RTP Port 9017. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-18 check passed.
    <15:06:09>: UDP RTP Port 9018. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-19 check passed.
    <15:06:14>: UDP RTP Port 9019. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-20 check passed.
    <15:06:18>: UDP RTP Port 9020. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-21 check passed.
    <15:06:23>: UDP RTP Port 9021. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-22 check passed.
    <15:06:27>: UDP RTP Port 9022. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-23 check passed.
    <15:06:32>: UDP RTP Port 9023. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-24 check passed.
    <15:06:32>: UDP RTP Port 9024. NO RESPONSE received. Phase 4-25 check failed with ERRORS. Some functionality will be LIMITED. For more information, please visit http://www.3cx.com/support/firewall-checker.html
    <15:06:36>: UDP RTP Port 9025. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-26 check passed.
    <15:06:41>: UDP RTP Port 9026. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-27 check passed.
    <15:06:45>: UDP RTP Port 9027. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-28 check passed.
    <15:06:50>: UDP RTP Port 9028. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-29 check passed.
    <15:06:54>: UDP RTP Port 9029. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-30 check passed.
    <15:06:59>: UDP RTP Port 9030. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-31 check passed.
    <15:07:03>: UDP RTP Port 9031. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-32 check passed.
    <15:07:08>: UDP RTP Port 9032. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-33 check passed.
    <15:07:12>: UDP RTP Port 9033. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-34 check passed.
    <15:07:17>: UDP RTP Port 9034. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-35 check passed.
    <15:07:21>: UDP RTP Port 9035. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-36 check passed.
    <15:07:26>: UDP RTP Port 9036. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-37 check passed.
    <15:07:30>: UDP RTP Port 9037. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-38 check passed.
    <15:07:35>: UDP RTP Port 9038. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-39 check passed.
    <15:07:39>: UDP RTP Port 9039. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-40 check passed.
    <15:07:44>: UDP RTP Port 9040. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-41 check passed.
    <15:07:48>: UDP RTP Port 9041. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-42 check passed.
    <15:07:53>: UDP RTP Port 9042. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-43 check passed.
    <15:07:57>: UDP RTP Port 9043. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-44 check passed.
    <15:08:02>: UDP RTP Port 9044. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-45 check passed.
    <15:08:06>: UDP RTP Port 9045. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-46 check passed.
    <15:08:11>: UDP RTP Port 9046. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-47 check passed.
    <15:08:15>: UDP RTP Port 9047. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-48 check passed.
    <15:08:20>: UDP RTP Port 9048. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-49 check passed.
    <15:08:24>: UDP RTP Port 9049. Response received correctly with no translation. Phase 4-50 check passed.


    Application exit code is 4
     
  16. houston

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've run into an issue where the RTP stream connects properly, so you get audio both ways, but the SIP control packets do not, and in about 30 seconds the call is then disconnected because it is never "answered".

    You might want to confirm that you are forwarding both TCP and UDP on port 5060.

    Might or might not apply...one never knows..

    Try putting the 3cx on the public IP with no firewall, see if it works. Then public IP WITH firewall (blocking all ports except those outlined in the 3cx manual). If things are still working, try the same settings behind NAT. See at which point it breaks and focus on troubleshooting that stage.
     
  17. jwnesbitt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have setup and account with sipgate, one of the supported VoIP providers in the UK, and it does the same thing.

    I am using the standard windows firewall. (still disabled at the moment)

    Whats weird is that all "extension" calls seem to work ok, even ones between different physical locations. Its just the fixed line calls that drop.

    I have now tried UK landline numbers, mobiles and Internation land line and mobiles with the same result.

    Jody
     
  18. jwnesbitt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    If this sheds any more light

    incoming calls are fine, i had one yesterday that was over 5 minutes at a remote extension and it did not drop out

    Jody
     
  19. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to clarify since this thread is getting long. Every variation of incoming, outgoing, and extension to extension calling is working fine with the one exception that if you are on a remote extension and try to dial out to a SIP provider, the call only lasts 30 seconds. Is this correct?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. jwnesbitt

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Every call to any landline fails, from both remote and local locations around the 25 - 30 second mark. Calls between extensions are all OK.

    I can receive calls on both the local and remote locations based on the call routing, incoming calls are fine.

    Did the Firewall check that I pasted shed any light ?

    Is there possibly a router port forwarding setting i need to enable ?

    Jody
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.