Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Call Forwarding with speed dial?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by henkvd, Jan 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. henkvd

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used to use Trixbox on my office. When I leave the office, I push on the speed dial button (*72) to set a Call Forward to my cell phone.

    But I can't find this option in 3CX Free Version... I can find a lot of Call Forwarding options, but I just want to use one button on my phone, not by using the web config or other computer software.

    Is this possible in 3CX Free?
     
  2. danhriscanu

    danhriscanu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    This option is not available in free version. For this you will have to configure a BLF key for speed dial and BLF configuration is not available in free version.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. henkvd

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats a pity! Thats the only function I need for my 3 extensions :) i will look for other PBXs for Windows.. Or else maybe virtualize asterisk or something.

    Thank you for your fast reply! :)
     
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,111
    Likes Received:
    329
    Did you apply the Demo key? Reduces your concurrent calls but allows testing of all functions.
     
  5. henkvd

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I will try that.

    2 lines is just enough, but better is 3 lines ;) I will try this, thank you!

    I think I'll switch to ClearOS with FreePBX or SME Server with FreePBX... unlimited lines, and all the options I need... for free :D
     
  6. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    Good luck.
    You will spent several month trying to make freePBX doing the job.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. henkvd

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was done in one hour... it's very easy. FreePBX isn't hat hard. I have an Elastix server that works perfectly, but I don't want to use two servers, I already have one Windows server, so that's why I wanted to try 3CX. But if I don't have the *72 option, then I have to stick to Asterisk (Elastix).

    Because this simple function (call *72) is not available in the Free version of 3CX (unless I use the demo).
     
  8. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    You may accomplish simple tasks via web interface, this is working with freePBX.
    The problems starts when you have to implement some scripts to implement something more advanced as functionality.
    However you may never need it.

    Be aware also of hacker attacks, unless you are willing paying the bills for somebody else, etc. FreePBX is a completely different level of solution, probably even makes no sense to compare with 3CX.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. henkvd

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's true, that's true. 3CX is a good system, and I would like to use it, but I don't want to pay hundreds of dollars just voor call forwarding :p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.