• V20: 3CX Re-engineered. Get V20 for increased security, better call management, a new admin console and Windows softphone. Learn More.

Call parking feature enhancement request

Status
Not open for further replies.

sls

Reaction score
I've been testing 3CX 8.0 and the new 9.0 version. I notice the 3CX call parking/pickup featue is still a big deal and complicate for alot of end users. Even I'm a tech guy and I'm still feeling the call parking process is hard to use. Here is my experience with 3CX call parking/pickup.

1. You have to blind transfer the call to "*0x". This is a problem because not all the phones or soft phones have the blind transfer button. If the phone doesn't have a blind transfer hard/soft key, how can I park the call? I ran into this problem when I setup an extension with an analog dummy phone and ATA adapter. The dummy analog phone has only 10 digit keys, *, # and hold button. I couldn't figure out how to park the call with this setup. I put away with those two crappy equipments and put an advance equipment - Cisco 7971 phone. With the default key map on the Cisco 7971, it only offers transfer softkey when the phone is off hook. I can't transfer the call to the parking orbit with the transfer key because no blind transfer softkey is available. I know I can modify some xml file in the Cisco provisioning directory to remap the keys and get the blind transfer key to show up when the phone is on offhook mode, but it just adds too much extra works for testing/eval users.

To resolve this issue, I think 3CX needs to add a new feature call "Offhook dailing code". That means the user can dial some codes to engage some basic features such as transfer, blind transfer, park or hold while they are talking on the phone. For example, if we can use "**" to represent the "Transfer" feature, the user can do "**1#" to transfer the call to parking slot 1 or "**101#" to transfer the call to extension 101.