Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Call Parking Issue

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by JWBeaversII, Aug 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JWBeaversII

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    At least I think that's my issue.

    I have the latest version of 3cx (commercial). I am using Aastra 6753i phones. I have 5 physical PSTN lines coming into my server through a Sangoma A200 Gateway. I can make outgoing calls and am receiving incoming calls for all physical phone lines.

    Here are my questions. I think they may be the result of my misunderstanding of a SIP system as compared to a traditional PBX (Which is what I am replacing).

    1. When I make an outgoing call, the system seems to pick the first avaiable PSTN line irregardless of which 'Line' button I press on the phone.

    2. When someone is on Line 1 on another phone, the light for Line 1 does not light up on other phones (like it would on a traditional system)

    3. If I answer a call on a phone on Line 1, and then place that call on hold, I cannot go to another phone and pick the call up on Line 1.

    4. Is there a way to know which line the incoming call is coming in on? They all go to the first available 'Line'. I have three different divisions to my business with separately published phone number, but all coming into this system. I would like to be able to answer calls on physical 'Line 1' as one division, Line 2 as the other, Line 3 as the other. But I don't know which line a phone call is coming in on at any given moment.

    I believe, like I said, this is somewhat normal, and that I need to setup blf to show status of lines, call parking to answer calls on other extensions, and ring groups to fix #4.

    If I am thinking right, please let me know and if you can point me in the right direction, I would appreciate it. If I've got it all wrong, please let me know. If you know where I can get more info on this, lmk. I've read the manuals for 3cx and my phones, and a lot of this blog, but still can't find the answers.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Issue #1] You may group your extensions into groups (corresponding to departments) and allow outgoing calls on specific line only by concrete extension group(s) in outbound rules. This will solve outgoing issues. It is not possible to achieve load balancing, etc. (if you have for example 2 lines for one department).

    [Issue #2] I'm not sure this is possible on Aastra phones. You can observe with sure the line status on 3CX softphone. May be possible with Yealink (T26/T28) -- need to check.

    [Issue #3] May be you can park the call and the pick the call from other extension using codes. This post will give you an idea: http://www.3cx.com/blog/voip-howto/dial-codes/
    It is not exactly the same as hold-retrieve feature on traditional key system.

    [Issue #4] Incoming issues may be solved with ring groups. If you name them appropriately, you will on display for which department the call is intended to.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. JWBeaversII

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the quick response. I do believe call parking will handle the one issue. I am having trouble figuring out how to do it on aastra phone....I use transfer key and then dial *00, but get busy tone. Sp0 works off speed dial though, however, I can only park one call.

    It also looks like aastra supports shared line appearance (I think they call it bridged line appearance). Does anyone know if 3rd supports this? It seems it was implemented in v9 but I can't seem to find documentation.

    Will keep posted. Any other thoughts or guidance is appreciated.

    James
     
  4. willow

    willow Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    it would be best to use a blf for each park and have SP0 through SP9 or how ever may you need. You can have it work kinda like a key system but not really.

    the 3cx is a PBX and not a key system so the lines on your phone do not represent the lines in the system.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes James,

    the feature is called Bridged Line Appearance (BLA). Yealink phones (higher models) support it, I don't know whether is applicable with 3CX, no idea about Aastra. I could test it next week (upon return from vacation). The 3CX softphone (version 6) supports it (program as BLF the line number, e.g. 10000, 10001, etc.).

    The issue with Aastra could be the dialplan of the phone itself - check it.

    Regards,
    Orlin.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. JWBeaversII

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the help. It is working fairly well with parking/blf setup. I tried bla, but could not get it to work. The aastra's support it, but I didn't know how to set it up in 3cx. Website alludes to it, but I don't see any documentation on how to do it. I'm not sure it's worth it at this point, but if anyone has info I'm willing to give it a go.

    I think I'm working through the other issues....just a learning curve!

    Thanks again everyone
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.