Call routing from VOIP provider. Catch all?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by tsukraw, Feb 24, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tsukraw

    tsukraw New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    6
    So have a customer with multiple locations. For this explanation we will keep it simple and just say they have 2 locations.
    They are using NexVortex which has a DR function to be able to send the SIP DID to multiple IPs if the main IP is down.
    Normally you would program the DIDs in the VOIP Provider and setup Source Identifications by DID to be able to route the DID to a destination.
    Since they have multiple locations (9) and multiple DIDs at each location i don't want to program all those DIDs into each system. So i was thinking a catch all (*) in the DID list but 3CX doesn't allow this. Then i thought (1*) as the catch all but when doing this it caught every incoming DID even ones that were fully entered....
    I know catch Calls (*) are not necessary recommended as it makes hacking easier but we have a SBC between our provider and the 3CX so we are not really worried about this. So please leave security out of any recommendations.

    Does anyone have any good ideas on how to accomplish this. Im kind of at a loss of ideas on this one.
    I have attached a simple diagram.
    We have DID 111-111-1111 going to the Minnesota 3CX and setup as a DID and Source Identification by DID.
    We have DID 222-222-2222 going to the Iowa 3CX and setup as a DID and Source Identification by DID.
    If the Minnesota system is down NexVortex sends the DID 111-111-1111 over to the Iowa IP Address.

    Right now the call would fail.
    We need to figure out a way that any DID that is not programmed to come in one a catch all entry.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. nterrell

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why don't you just have each number in on the PBX forward to a Number on the alternative PBX rather then an IP in the event of a DR scenario? That way its basically just an RCF rather then DID on the PBX. No additional programming needed.
     
  3. tsukraw

    tsukraw New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    6
    That would be the best option but nexvortex does not allow you to forward a DID to another DID on their system. Otherwise it would be possible to create a loop in there system. So we are stuck doing it by IP.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. nterrell

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well thats strange logic as that could still happen, anyway you could get around it by adding yet another PBX, setting DR to this new PBXs IP and adding all the DIDs to the new PBX, map each DID to an extension then set that new extension to forward to DID on one of the alternative PBXs. An annoying solution but at least you would only have to maintain this configuration on one PBX rather than all 9 of them.
     
  5. gbardissi

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Agreed if this were one pbx handling all 9 locations instead of 9 pbx's it would be a lot easier!
     
  6. tsukraw

    tsukraw New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    6
    Figured it out... Was kind of dumb.
    So all my previous DIDs i had been entering as *XXXxxxXXXX
    Well our incoming numbers were coming in with a +1 in the front so the * always allowed for the (+)

    When i tried the wildcard 1* it didn't work since there was a + sign in front of it so it didn't match.

    Modified our SBC to always remove the + so it only sends the digits through fixed the issue.

    Now have a 1* wild card at the bottom of the list and it is catching all other numbers our VOIp carrier sends when we are in a down situation at other locations.

    Kind of a cool setup to allow for location fail over without having to configure a lot to make it work.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.