Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Call to external extention - no audio

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Axence, Dec 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Axence

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the following problem:

    - 3cx server is setup at the office - latest version, router is Linksys WRV200 with all port mappings configured (firewall checker ok) and everything works ok. All calls - internal and external (incoming and outgoing) are ok.

    - At home - I have Grandstream BT200 and Siemens C470IP, configured as extentions. My home router is Linksys WAG200G - I did't do any port forwards.

    When I call any number (internal or external) from my home phone, everything works great. But when someone calls from the office (other extention) to my home phone, there is no audio both ways - nobody hears anything.

    How to solve this problem?

    Greg
     
  2. Axence

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update: after enabling option "PBX delivers audio" Grandstream works, while Siemens still not. Any thoughts?
    Greg
     
  3. tazz

    tazz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Axence

    If you end up spending anytime searching the forum post’s... You will discover that this is a continuing challenge. The short of this is that you need to stick with what works for you. I use Grandstream products, yet this is just half of it, one also needs to choose the SOHO Router that works. I’ve had challenges with this that makes me scream aloud from the roof tops. You are looking for advice & my suggestion is to mimic/emulate what you got working with Grandstream & the Router that accompanies it.

    Tazz
     
  4. Axence

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I start thinking that you are right.
    I have purchased - according to 3CX support - Linksys WRV200 (upgraded to the latest firware) and I have real problems now. 3CX dos not get incoming phone calls most time, external phones cannot register most time. Interesting is that at start, it was quite ok, but "degraded" in about 2 days (without any configuration changes - router restart does not help). Can you recommend any router that will solve all of that?

    I thought that I'll setup 3CX, some phones and will have a phone system in a few days. It looks like it's not so easy. I start wondering if it can be done at all. And if such system can be really reliable.

    Greg
     
  5. amygoda

    amygoda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    try dmz for temp. time
    if it solves all the problems
    so you will have to work on port forward
    do you use stun for external or not?
     
  6. tazz

    tazz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Flashed dd-wrt to a Linksys WRT54GTM. Again stick with the Router that works with your Grandstream Config
     
  7. Axence

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently the Grandstream stopped to register at all. I added the phone IP to DMZ with no effect. Changed the phone to supported GXP2000. It didn't register. EyeBeam sometimes registers (sometimes timeouts), but with significant delay. It's getting worse and worse... And I don't change anything.
     
  8. Axence

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually both 3CX and phone are in DMZ and still the phone does not register with 3CX. What's the problem?
    Greg
     
  9. Axence

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've found the problem: it's a router, which cannot handle our office traffic. The traffic is not very high itself (10kB/s) , but it has many outgoing TCP requests per second. We are a producer of network monitoring solution and we test it generating so many connections. After I turned our program off, everything started to work (except the bloody Siemens phone, which still does not). Well, almost - GXP2000 works great, while BT200 has one way audio.

    So we are back to the router thing: please recommend good router that can hadle high TCP rtaffic and VoIP. Possibly with the ability to connect 2 internet lines.

    Greg

    PS. Thanks for your help
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.