Call to our DID fails

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by engin411, Jul 23, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. engin411

    engin411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have 5 DIDs - a couple are routed to a queue, a few are routed to an extension. When we call any of our DIDs from an internal extension, that call fails.

    Is this normal? Why can't I dial the DID if I want to instead of dialing the extension number?
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,749
    Likes Received:
    285
    Have a look at, or post the 3CX log of one of the calls. That should show where the call ends up.

    In general, it would be preferable to dial the extension directly, otherwise you will be using two trunks, and two calls against your 3CX licence. as the call would route out, then back in.

    You could set-up a loop trunk, and modify your outbound rules for the DID numbers, saving having to route the call out to your provider then back in, but it would still use up two calls.
     
  3. engin411

    engin411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok. This is the first hint of error from the logs, edited:

    23-Jul-2014 17:51:24.808 Leg L:4492.1[Extn] is terminated: Cause: BYE from PBX
    23-Jul-2014 17:51:24.758 [CM503020]: Call(C:4492): Normal call termination. Call originator: Extn:41. Reason: Busy
    23-Jul-2014 17:51:24.758 Leg L:4492.2[Line:10000>>717xxxxxxx] is terminated: Cause: 486 Busy here/INVITE from 207.xxx.xxx.xxx:5060
    23-Jul-2014 17:51:24.758 L:4492.1[Extn] failed to reach Line:10000>>717xxxxxxx, reason Busy
    23-Jul-2014 17:51:24.758 Call to T:Line:10000>>717xxxxxxx@[Dev:sip:kauf_vn1@207.xxx.xxx.xxx:5060] from L:4492.1[Extn] failed, cause: Cause: 486 Busy here/INVITE from 207.xxx.xxx.xxx:5060
    23-Jul-2014 17:51:24.757 [CM503003]: Call(C:4492): Call to <sip:717xxxxxxx@207.xxx.xxx.xxx:5060> has failed; Cause: 486 Busy here/INVITE from 207.xxx.xxx.xxx:5060
     
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,749
    Likes Received:
    285
    Well it would appear that either all of your trunks, or the number you are calling, is busy, or so your provider is telling you. If you are certain that both the number, and some your trunks, are not busy, then see if calls to the other DIDs have the same message. If so then perhaps you might want to speak to your provider.

    There is a chance that they have some sort of block as the originating and terminating trunk (I assume) is the same.
     
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,749
    Likes Received:
    285
    Here is an old post about the opposite situation, they didn't want to use two of their VoIP trunks when someone internally dialled the full number of a DID. A loop trunks may be something you will want to consider even if you do find the reason your calls are "busy".

    http://www.3cx.com/forums/internal-users-dialing-dids-instead-of-extension-20002.html#p102900
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.