Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Call transfer on Gigaset A580 IP

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by SteveY, Dec 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SteveY

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello

    I have just set up a Siemens Gigaset A580 IP and everything appears to be working OK except for call transfer. The 3CX has the latest version 8 and the A580 has also been updated to the latest firmware (02214). I have tried various combinations of options onthe 3CX and the A580, but always get the same result - I hear a click when I press the recall button but the call is not affected, i.e. I am still talking to the incoming caller.

    Has anyone had any success getting call transfer to work with this phone?

    Many thanks

    Steve
     
  2. Prini

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Did you manage to find a solution for this problem?

    As i am thinking about buying the Gigaset A580 IP Phones
     
  3. SteveY

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    No, not as yet, but I am still looking. For the moment I have connected the analogue port of the A580 to a Linksys PAP2T ATA which does support call transfer through the 3CX. A shame, because I really want to use multiple handsets with individual SIP accounts on the same base station.

    Please let me know if you have any success.

    Steve
     
  4. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Steve,

    I don't think that the phone which is designed to make/receive calls from VoIP provider can do transfer but...
    Have you tried this firmware? http://gigaset.com/hq/en/product/GIGASETA580IP.html?tab=downloads
    Does it really implement transfers as specified in description?

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. SteveY

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Stepan

    Thanks for spotting that. No I haven't tried that version yet. It looks like they may have been working on the call transfer function, so I will try it out next time I am on the client site. I will let you know how I get on.

    Many thanks

    Steve
     
  6. o.mascia

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you ever found a way to get an A580 IP to transfer call ?
    Using R key or whatever else ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. RichardCrabb1

    RichardCrabb1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I have had call transfers working for some time with Gigaset cordless phones. However, I have just tested it and it does not work any more. Either the newer Gigaset firmware, or Version 9 has stopped it working. The Gigaset SIP stack has not kept up with recent developments of SIP. In particular the extensions to SIP that are used to transfer calls. One way around it is to use Call Assistant. The other is to get an upto date handset such as the Snom M9. I have no idea why Siemens Gigaset is so far behind. Perhaps the hardware is constraining them from adding the required extensions to their SIP stack.

    I am not sure if that helps.

    Richard Crabb
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. o.mascia

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tested more and more. Here is how call transfers work successfully using A580 IP. That is not fairly easy, so I would not recommend this device for professional usage.

    1) Get in communication with one party.
    2) Press Menu. Scroll to External Call and press OK. You get 'Enter Number:' prompt.
    3) Dial the second party number and press green phone key.
    (While in communication with the second party, you can alternate between each other using the up and down keys.)
    4) Press the R key: the call gets transferred.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. MrSlickster01

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any advances on how to get "call transfer"/ "call hold" working using R key?

    thanks in advance...
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.