Caller ID not being passed onto mobile

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by leejor, Jan 21, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,360
    Likes Received:
    226
    I've gone back though the forums and can find similar posts but nothing specifically dealing with this issue. It may be that this just won't work but I'd see if any other members have dealt with a similar issue. This is using 3CX version 11.

    I've recently put the ring my mobile option onto one extension. This extension is part of a ring group. Calls to the extensions in the ring group display the outside callers name/number correctly. Calls to the ring group do ring the mobile as they should.

    However... the callers Caller ID is not passed to the mobile, only the assigned number of the outgoing phone line.

    Now...the outgoing line is VoIP, and they do allow the caller ID number to be changed as I have verified by changing an extension number to display/i], and it is passed onto the called party, rather than the assigned VoIP line number.

    There are the bare minimum options in the trunk settings for the VoIP line, just enough to register, and basic settings in the ring group and extension. There is no ring group name being added.

    It is calls to the ring group that I'm concerned about, not calls directly to the extension number, with the ring my mobile option.

    Has anyone had any success on getting this sort of thing to work, or am I wasting my time?
     
  2. complex1

    complex1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hi,

    Change in Outbound Parameters: “From : User Part” into “OriginatorCallerID” Original Caller number will be sent.
    This will do what you want it to do.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,360
    Likes Received:
    226
    Thanks. I had a feeling that it was something to do with those parameters but wasn't sure if involving a ring group would have any bearing on it working. I will try changing that tonight. I had never had a need to do any call forwarding though the PBX previously.
     
  4. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    179
    Changing the "FROM: USER PART" to something other than the AuthID may break connectivity to some VoIP Providers. Be sure to test this thoroughly.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. complex1

    complex1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    38
    As far as I know has the “From : User Part” nothing to do with AuthID.
    You use “From : User Part” only for sending a Caller ID to the VoIP provider.
    AuthID is used to register the Trunk with the VoIP Provider.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    179
    Not a problem with registrations - but a problem with calls.
    I had this very issue with only being able to make calls on 1 account to a provider but had 2 separate registrations with different account numbers.
    We realized that the wrong account id was being sent by 3cx...

    The only way to fix it was to use AuthID in the From:User field.
    I am not saying every VoIP provider has this issue - but it may be out there - beware.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,360
    Likes Received:
    226
    This is just a single line VoIP account. I know enough to change things back if it "breaks' something else. I will post the results here.
    But thanks for all of the information.
     
  8. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    179
    LJ, I have seen you have a lot of experience with 3cx.Didn't mean to question your ability.
    A simple Caveat :)

    Good luck.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,360
    Likes Received:
    226
    complex1...
    That did the trick...and so far, no detrimental "side effects".
    Thanks
     
  10. complex1

    complex1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    38
    leejor,

    I am pleased to be at your service.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,360
    Likes Received:
    226
    I spoke too soon, It doesn't work from numbers I'm doing test calls from today. still passing on the VoIP line's billing number. I will have to "play around" with it this evening.
     
  12. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,360
    Likes Received:
    226
    After some experimentation, I discovered that it is the field:

    Remote Party ID-Calling Party-User Part
    that had to be changed to "OriginatorCallerID" Original caller number will be sent

    Hopefully there will be no repercussions, fingers crossed.
     
  13. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    179
    Interesting as I do use the other field in most installations. Must be provider specific :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. complex1

    complex1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    38
    Leejor,

    I am glad this setting work for you.
    I have tried your settings but that doesn’t work for me.
    All incoming calls passed now as Anonymous calls on my cellphone.
    I stick with my settings ( if you don’t mind ;) )

    Regards.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. amygoda

    amygoda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello,
    please advice about voip providers support transfer caller id
    in USA and Swiss
    Thank you
     
  16. pstmg

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0

    I am sorry but this didn't work for me... if one extension calls a mobile number the number doesn't popup in the cell phone..

    Is there any solution for this ??


    Cheers
    Paul
     
  17. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,360
    Likes Received:
    226
    I assume that any forwarded, outside, or "ring my mobile at the same time " numbers are showing as correct?
    What number does show, when an extension calls, the main billing number? It may be all well and good that your mobile gets an extension number showing, but to any other called party, it would not make sense, or do you mean the DID number? Have you tried putting anything in the number to display field, in the extension settings?
     
  18. pstmg

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well the point is everything runs ok except when a call is diverted from a non registed extension to a cell phone. The number that pops-up is the company general number and not the caller id. I've tried to change the settings in 3cx but calls become anonymous without any number presented!!
    Is it possible to send caller id's trough a voip provider??

    Thank you
     
  19. complex1

    complex1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hi Paul,

    This depend if your VoIP provider allows it or not. Some do, some don’t.
    I think your provider allows it, because if you change settings in 3CX calls become anonymous. If I understand your post well.

    I have done a small test.
    If I call a non-registered extension which have also the status “Out of Office” and is setup with “Send call to my mobile number” (NOT Ring my extension and my mobile at the same time) my mobile show the incoming number.
    If I call the same non-registered extension and the call comes from an internal extension my mobile show what is in the “Outbound Caller ID” field of that extension.

    So, I think I may say 3CX handle forwarding Caller ID’s well.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. pstmg

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello complex1

    Thanks for your reply. So could you be so kind and let me know what configuration should I put in the 'outbound' tab???

    Regards
    Paul
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.