Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Caller ID not Working

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by allTel, Jul 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. allTel

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    We use an Adtran Integrated Access device from a major US telco through a Patton 4114 Gateway to supply voice to our 3CX server. The 3CX server does not seem to read the inbound Caller ID. The server says anonymous even though we know the Caller ID is being past from the Adtran device. Here is a sample of the Caller ID fron the IA device:

    ........ Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 65.147.152.71:5060;branch=z9hG4bK00Bf8a54c0af1693132
    ........ Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 65.147.149.3:5065;branch=z9hG4bK1969442953934121
    ........ From: "Ramon Gonzalez" <sip:3036075206@65.147.149.3>;tag=d93116e4-1dd1-11b2-bb86-b03162323164+da80882c
    ........ To: <sip:3034362326@65.147.152.71>
    ........ Call-ID: 1769922-1860733461@65.147.149.3
    ........ CSeq: 1 INVITE
    ........ Max-Forwards: 69
    ........ Allow: INVITE,ACK,CANCEL,BYE,REGISTER,REFER,NOTIFY,PRACK,OPTIONS
    ........ Remote-Party-ID: "Gonzalez Ramon" <sip:3036075206@65.147.149.3>;party=calling;id-type=subscriber;privacy=off
    ........ P-Asserted-Identity: "Gonzalez Ramon" <sip:3036075206@65.147.149.3>
    ........ Contact: <sip:3036075206@65.147.149.3:5065;transport=udp>
    ........ Content-Length: 200
    ........ Content-Type: application/sdp

    Has anyone seen this issue before? Suggestions on how to further troubleshoot or correct this issue would be appreciated.
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,117
    Likes Received:
    329
    The log you are posting is from...The Adtran? or between the Adtran and the Patton? Does the Patton actually acknowledge the caller ID? If the Patton doesn't see it then it may be set to pass the call on to 3CX too fast. While it would be nice to alert 3CX as soon as a call rings in, any Gateway must wait for the caller ID to be sent. In North America it is sent between the first and second ring. Make sure the Patton is waiting long enough.
     
  3. allTel

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the post. Yes - the log is from the Adtran IA device so we know that the telco is supplying the caller ID. I suspect that teh Patton 4114 is not waiting long enough to capture the ID. Does anyone know how to adjust this setting in the patton gateways? Thanks.
     
  4. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    the "log" of 3CX Phone System can clarify situation.
    If you have problem with Caller ID and specify it as "The 3CX server does not seem to read the inbound Caller ID." then please give a chance for the "culprit" to justify its own behavior. :)

    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. allTel

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    That seems like a fair comment, but it is hard to tell from the logs who the culprit really is. Here is what 3CX reports on an incoming call:

    11:28:20.866 [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:200@192.168.40.5:5060>

    11:28:20.866 [CM505002]: Gateway:[BA052784] Device info: Device Not Identified: User Agent not matched; Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [Patton SN4114 JO EUI 00A0BA052784 R5.2 2009-01-14 H323 SIP FXS FXO M5T SIP Stack/4.0.26.26] PBX contact: [sip:10000@192.168.40.5:5060]

    11:28:20.866 [CM503001]: Call(196): Incoming call from anonymous@(Ln.10000@BA052784) to <sip:200@192.168.40.5:5060>

    As you can see, there is not enough information to determine the problem.
     
  6. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,117
    Likes Received:
    329
    So 3CX isn't seeing any caller ID. If you bridge a caller ID unit across one of the lines going into the Patton from the Adtran, place a call to that line, do you see caller ID?
     
  7. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Main part of INVITE request is printed in on Server Activity log page. (Use refresh button, it is not updated in real-time)
    To get it, you need to set Verbose level and restart (mandatory) 3CX PhoneSystem service.
    wiki.3cx.com and 3cx.com/blog provides articles and videos which are describing different aspects of 3cx phone system functionality.
    For example:
    http://www.3cx.com/blog/docs/3cx-server-activity-log/ - Updated link.
    is the video which was consecrating to "the log provided by 3CX Phone System".
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. allTel

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    The caller-id issue was due to the command "ring-number 1" in the interfaces fxo - sometimes caller-id comes in the ring numer 2 or 3. We set ring-number to 2 and it works well now. Thanks for al the help.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.