Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Caller ID should transmit the original Caller ID

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by stash, Jan 29, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stash

    stash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    In US can we trasmit the caller ID of the calling party?

    example. I call our office using my mobile phone 6889000 and the office number is 6887000 i input the extension number of the person i want to reach but that person is not on his desk so the call was send to his mobile via rebound the caller ID should show on the extension i'm calling should be 6889000 not 6887000 which is the PRI of the office.

    How can i achieve this anyone tried this one?


    Thanks,

    STASH
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,095
    Likes Received:
    327
    By extension, do you mean , his mobile?

    If so, it all depends, if the call is routed to a mobile (or any "outside" number, then it is logical that your office number would show up as the call is being placed on a PRI trunk with that billing number. When you place any other outside calls, what does the called party see for caller ID, the main number, or a 10 digit DID number?

    Some provider allow outgoing numbers on a PRI to be changed, others do not. You need to confirm this before you continue as it may not be possible with your service.
     
  3. stash

    stash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi leejor,


    No not per extension. Since my outbound caller ID is on the Patton Gateway.
    I already ask my telco if they can send number that is not part of the Trunk/PRI.
    Is there a way to achieve this functionalty?


    Thanks,

    STASH
     
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,095
    Likes Received:
    327
    I'm not quite clear.

    Have you confirmed, that any outbound call, made by an extension, shows a DID number (the extension number is a part of the number displayed at the called parties phone), or does the called party always see your "main" number?
     
  5. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    Normally the caller's number is notified as 'A-number', the called number is notified as 'B-number' and final external destination is notified as 'C-number' (call been forwarded to 'C' or transferred by 'B').

    Most providers worldwide will not allow transmitting of 'A-number' to 'C' party, instead of this 'C' will see 'B' number (e.g. 'B' is extension's caller-id, while 'C' is the user mobile number). Sending 'A-number' is achieved by setting 'Originating Caller-ID' into outgoing parameters settings for providers in 3CX system. If you set 'extension caller-ID', 'C' party will see the 'B-number', i.e. the number called by 'A' party.

    If your provider is supporting '302 diversion header' (rarely), you will be able to transfer the 'A-number', something more - using '302 diversion header', if possible, will not use 3CX call license for forwarded calls (this method is also called 'call forwarding by provider').

    Hope these explanations bring some clarity.

    Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. stash

    stash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi eagle,

    You explained it right. So i need to ask my telco if they are supporting 302 diversion header. In this case if my provider can support this they are the once who will be giving the right caller ID. Do i need to edit anything on the 3CX?


    Thanks,

    STASH
     
  7. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    Forward calls in 'away' profile either using '302 diversion' or 'normally', you can test it even without waiting the answer from provider. Also it is important what your provider outgoing settings are set to.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. stash

    stash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi eagle,

    How can i set 302 diversion on away? and what do you mean by normally?


    Thanks,

    STASH
     
  9. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    You can set forward to external number in Extension settings, 'Away' or 'Out off Office' profiles, either using '302 diversion header' or without it (which I refer as normal way).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. stash

    stash New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi eagle,


    OK i will try your suggestion if this will work.


    Thanks,

    STASH
     
  11. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    This depends on your provider, whether it supports '302 diversion header' or not.
    Using '302 diversion header' will not consume a SC license, after deflection.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. netswork

    netswork Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    1
    I do this with US PRI's all the time. On your PRI gateway you need to set your outbound parameters "from user part" to be orginator caller id. This will then correctly show your mobile number rather than the number on the gateway.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.