CallerID when transferring call to Mobile

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Jgrathwohl, May 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jgrathwohl

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    During after hours, we put the on-call tech on transfer to mobile from within 3cx, at todays meeting it was asked if it was possible to have the originating CallerID display on the transferred call on the mobile phone instead of ours. I am unsure if this is possible since it is our DID calling the mobile ...

    So Person calls us, hits 3cx, 3cx sends to on call techs mobile, mobile will show office phone number calling.

    Would like to know if that can be changed to originating caller ID as the number shown calling.

    Why? They are not intelligent enough to operate the 3cx App, and want to be able to tell someone they will call them back, and keep assuming they will have caller ID to be able to call that number back without writing it down -_-;
     
  2. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,321
    Likes Received:
    253
    Are you on a VOIP Carrier that lets you set your Outbound Caller ID?

    If yes - then
    Select the Voip Provider
    Goto Outbound Parameters tab
    Select "From: User Part" in the list at the bottom.
    Then change variable above to "OriginatorCallerID"
    then "Add/Update"
    then "Apply"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. eagle2

    eagle2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    11
    The suggested solution by craigreilly is correct, the problem is the most providers would not allow you to send originator's Caller-ID.

    Possible solutions are:
    - using a provider which allows transmitting of number 'A' as caller-id ( A --> B ---> C, i.e. 'A' calls 'B', and 'B' is forwarded /redirected to 'C', so 'C' sees number 'A' instead of number 'B')
    - using a provider supporting '302 diversion header' and redirecting calls using this method (in extension settings | call forwarding settings)

    Best regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,321
    Likes Received:
    253
    Sigma VoIP, an approved 3cx provider in the US, supports this.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. bardissi

    bardissi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Almost every major sip carrier providers caller ID overide.
     
  6. jpillow

    jpillow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Broadvox also supports spoofing they too are 3cx approved
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    Broadvox dropped off the 3CX list...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Jgrathwohl

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looking into Sigma Voip now. thanks for the recommendation, we tried transitioning to another trunk provider but it ended up being a big mess on their part and mine and the boss here said to axe it before letting me finish figuring out the problem (ended up being an internal firewall issue between the two NICs and the Switch. However the main reason we looked into switching was bad call quality from callcentric but after upping our internet from 30Mbps to 75Mbps we haven't had any issues on call quality that was on our end.
     
  9. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    I would suggest you look into your firewall and QoS. That is a ton of bandwidth.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Jgrathwohl

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apparently it is actually mishandling of packets with Callcentric and my ISP Comcast, the extra upload speed pushes those packets through the "slow" lane a bit better, i think is the case; however here is what I did since being employed and resolving all the call issues, and thanks go out to a forum member in my area i worked with for a time, John Pillow with Flyte Communications a 3cx provider.

    Employed; Call Quality complaints. no Firewall or QoS installed on their network. :(
    Installed new Untangle NG Firewall which has Voip QoS handling.
    Calls were dropping frequently, this ended up being a Duplexing error between the NICs in the firewall and the DLINK switch, a problem that is extremely difficult to detect without knowledge of the linux kernel in the untangle firewall since the GUI has no way of obtaining this information.
    In the mean time we were attempting to transition to MegaPath SIP Trunks to alleviate the call quality issues that were there before the firewall even entered the game.
    MegaPath situation fell through because the firewall problems were not resolved during the time the switchover was taking place, so the boss had them axe the plan.

    Firewall fixed; everything operational again except occasional call quality issues again, found the 3cx was being hit by russian and french IPs frequently so i blocked a bunch of countries, still no help on quality.

    Upped Comcast speed. Call quality problems virtually gone, haven't heard a complaint in 2 months except when it was the other persons issue.
    Seems fishy to me. Another Tech told me they had a similar issue with Comcast and Callcentric.

    End of story? Net Neutrality needs to be enforced.
     
  11. jpillow

    jpillow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    @ Jgrathwohl I'm glad you were able to get the firewall sorted out.

    @Sigma1 I'm not surprised their customer service has to be the worst around, and they have been going downhill for someitme now. On the flip side I've had clients with them for years and as long as we havent had an issue which involves dealing with customer service too much things have been fine.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    jpillow... they were purchased by NBS, just like another former listed provider was taken over. The same "buyer" knocked on our door too and I don't expect customer service to get any better at all.

    There are things you can do, such as DSCP tagging your traffic exiting your wan port as 48 or better (Comcast honors that).The router makes all the difference, Mikrotik is the choice for us.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.