Calling extensions from different subnets

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Anonymous, Nov 22, 2006.

?

Do you use 3CX for internal use as PBX or external use - as cheap gateway to outside world

1. Internal use

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. International calls

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Both

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Hi,

I am new in Voip and I installed 3CX software. It worked from the first try, BUT it worked only then when my voip ATA's were in same subnet, so in example if i have the following scenario, it works

3CX SERVER - IP: 10.0.0.1
    ATA1 - IP: 10.0.0.100
    ATA2 - IP: 10.0.0.101

but, in the next scenario, extensions cannot call eachother, the telefone rings on the handset of first device, but second device doesnt ring

3CX SERVER - IP: 10.0.0.1
    ATA1 - IP: 10.0.5.100
    ATA2 - IP: 10.0.10.101

if I try to dial outside (voip internet telephone calls) it works from both extensions, but they cannot call eachother.

also, in 3CX server in server log, you can clearly see that ip's of ATA's are: 111@10.0.5.100 and 112@10.0.10.101, so logically 10.0.0.1 cannot see 10.0.5.100 :)

you have to have in mind that subnet 10.0.10.101 might bee behind two routers: 10.0.0.0/24->10.0.5.0/24->10.0.10.0/24

So, how can I solv this problem, do I need STUN server, do I need VLAN's or VPN's, or do I need to get some other PBX software and not 3CX :)

Thanks for your time

2. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest

Did you check your subnet mask?

re-read your post. the subnet mask is wrong. with the /24, that will not work. if the third octec (from left) are diferente, you need a router to make them to work

for that scenario, you will have to have a subnet mask of /16

Virginio Reis

3. archie

archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff