Calling via LocalPhone

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by SnelleEdje, Nov 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SnelleEdje

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    My 3CX PBX is registered to a few providers, LocalPhone is one of them.
    Registering is no problem. Receiving a call from this LocalPhone account works okay.
    When I make a call and try to route this to LocalPhone, it will not work. In the Server Activity Log it says:
    14:38:50.138 [CM503003]: Call(27): Call to sip:0031*********@localphone.com:5060 has failed; Cause: 403 Fake FROM - use From=id next time; from IP:94.75.247.45:5060.
    (The IP 94.... is not mine, don't know where that comes from.)

    Anyway, the call is not made and it will pass on to the next entry in de outbound rule set (to Xeloq) which will process the call correctly.

    I could make calls with this LocalPhone account using the VIOP part of my Draytec router, so the problem is in the combination 3CX and LocalPhone.

    Can anyone help me with this?
    Thanx in advance!

    Regards,
    Edwin.
     
  2. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you don't know how to interpret LocalPhone responses then you can ask them how to do it.
    Most probably, you are trying to "spoof" the CallerID but it is not allowed by LocalPhone.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. SnelleEdje

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply.
    Have not yet asked LocalPone about this, I will.
    I am not aware that I am spoofing anything. Just checked my IP-config and I could not find anything suspicious.
    Regards,
    Edwin.
     
  4. SnelleEdje

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just found out that IP address 94.75.249 is a LocalPhone address.
    The logfiles says "use From=id next time", so LocalPhone seems to expect some other information in the "From" field of the SIP header.
    In the Outbound parameters screen of the VOIP provider (in 3CX), i see three different type of "From" fields in SIP (From: Display Name, From: User Part and From: Host part). Is it possible I have to change one (or more) of these or is this absolutely a no go area?
     
  5. SnelleEdje

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, problem solved.

    The answer from LocalPhone support was: "The from has to be YOUR_SIP_ID@localphone.com"

    So I tried to adjust the different FROM fields in the outbound parameters of the VOIP connection in 3CX one at the time. To no avail.

    Than I deleted the connection to LocalPhone and created it again using the Xeloq parameters in the wizzard. I changed the Server and Proxy fields to LocalPhone and it all worked as expected.
    I think I created the LocalPhone connection using the 3starsnet parameters the first time (and adjusting the server parameters afterwards of course).

    Regards,
    Edwin.
     
  6. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Edwin,

    thanks for the update.
    Technically, the necessary change was to set value of the "From: User part" to "AuthID" value. For generic Voip provider it is set to "OutboundCallerID", what is not compatible with LocalPhone provider.

    Best Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. SnelleEdje

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Stepan,

    Just checked that with my current setup and you are right indeed.
    My lessons learned for today. Thanks.

    Regards,
    Edwin.
     
  8. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    178
    glad I found this. helped me today. thanks.
    although it seems you can only set 1 outbound caller id for the service on the website - or hide it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.