Calls "forbidden" on 3CX softphone

Discussion in 'Windows' started by lmathers, Apr 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lmathers

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vali_3CX locked my earlier topic (probably because I dared to criticise 3CX), so I've been forced to post a new topic and seek assistance from the community.

    We have the latest COMMERCIAL (yes...we pay for this product, and we pay for annual update insurance) release of the 3CX PBX installed. We are still using the Version 3.1 softphones, because they are relatively easy to use and we didn't feel the need to upgrade all 45 or so machines that we have in our office. We also strongly dislike the new softphone design (and note that you still have to run the Assistant as a separate application).

    Nonetheless, the Version 3.1 softphone has stopped working (for some unknown reason) on my Windows 7 machine. It was working perfectly previously.

    I have uninstalled and installed the latest softphone release, but using EXACTLY the same settings as before, I now cannot connect to the PBX and all calls are "forbidden".

    Here is the debugging info from the phone:

    DX:MP3 Writer initialized
    DX:MP3 Encoder initialized
    DX:FFDShow not present
    Integration with 3CX Call Assistant is OFF
    Translation file OK
    Attempting to connect pbx
    Phone got as local port 53557
    Plantronics not connected
    Jabra not connected
    Yealink not connected
    RTP engine OK
    SIP engine OK
    Sound mic device OK [{CD5ABDCB-002A-40D5-A81A-D0907B8D9EDC}]
    Sound ring device OK [{84A7AE98-D823-48B9-B189-8D4F657F68F9}]
    Sound speaker device OK [{84A7AE98-D823-48B9-B189-8D4F657F68F9}]
    Phone is now connected
    Phone is no longer connected
    Integration with 3CX Call Assistant is OFF
    Translation file OK
    Attempting to connect pbx
    Phone got as local port 59536
    Plantronics not connected
    Jabra not connected
    Yealink not connected
    RTP engine OK
    SIP engine OK
    Sound mic device OK [{CD5ABDCB-002A-40D5-A81A-D0907B8D9EDC}]
    Sound ring device OK [{84A7AE98-D823-48B9-B189-8D4F657F68F9}]
    Sound speaker device OK [{84A7AE98-D823-48B9-B189-8D4F657F68F9}]
    Phone is now connected
    Video calls not allowed
    Forbidden
    Video calls not allowed
    Forbidden

    Internally, we have "pbx" resolved to the server running 3CX (i.e. 192.168.10.11), so phone settings are as follows:

    Extension: 110
    ID: 110
    Password: XXXX
    I am in the office - local IP = "pbx"

    Any ideas as to why, with exactly the same settings as the old phone, this new version of the 3CX softphone has all calls "forbidden"? Why does it say "video calls are not allowed", when I'm only trying to make a voice call?

    Thanks in advance,

    Lee
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,375
    Likes Received:
    231
    A couple of questions...

    Why not port 5060?

    What, if anything, does the 3CX server log show after an attempted registration?
     
  3. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    61
    Lee

    This section clearly states "3CX does NOT provide technical support via this forum." As a licensed user you are, I suggest you to also use the "3CX partner forum". Also, as a licensed user you're, I suggest you to post there the ticket number you have regarding your issue, it's not difficult at all. I promise I will take care. Hope you will do this.

    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. lmathers

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Vali,

    I'm not after technical support from 3CX. I'm after assistance from the community. I thought that was what this forum was for? The alternative is that we just "discuss" the softphone, but don't ask questions or seek assistance? Can you please advise?

    I'm still experiencing this issue and the only way I've found around it is to steal a Polycom phone from another of my staff. I'm not using the softphone but would dearly like to be able to again.

    We have upgrade insurance a paid for a commercial release, but we did not pay for support, which is an "added extra". Hence my posting of the issue here on the forum. Seeking the assistance of the community.

    The issue is also not just related to me and my machine. It has now spread to another user when we installed the latest softphone release on another Windows 7 machine.

    The softphone will initially say that it is "connected", but then any calls out are "forbidden". After a few minutes, it then shows as "not connected". Here again is the debugging info:

    DX:MP3 Writer initialized
    DX:MP3 Encoder initialized
    DX:FFDShow not present
    Integration with 3CX Call Assistant is OFF
    Translation file OK
    Attempting to connect pbx
    Phone got as local port 58929
    Plantronics not connected
    Jabra not connected
    Yealink not connected
    RTP engine OK
    SIP engine OK
    Sound mic device OK [{CD5ABDCB-002A-40D5-A81A-D0907B8D9EDC}]
    Sound ring device OK [{84A7AE98-D823-48B9-B189-8D4F657F68F9}]
    Sound speaker device OK [{84A7AE98-D823-48B9-B189-8D4F657F68F9}]
    Phone is now connected
    Video stream will be received on 192.168.10.139:40004
    Forbidden

    I am desperate to get this issue fixed. Can anyone assist?

    Thanks in advance.

    Lee
     
  5. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,447
    Likes Received:
    61
    "Forbidden" error got when calling (therefore, after a successful registration) most probably means a "domain" issue. What it means - your PBX has been configured as having a specific domain name - I don't have a PBX right now, but as far as I remember this field is available in Settings/Advanced tab, "Local SIP domain" in the Management console. If this one is different than the IP/computer name, then you have to specify it in the phone's In-Office field, and the IP/computer name in the proxy field.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. lmathers

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vali, despite all of the bad things I may have said about you in the past, you are brilliant.

    Thank you so much for your help.

    Cheers,

    Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.