Can Calls Get Stuck?

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by SIPfun, Jun 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SIPfun

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok... When I call from my cell to the PBX, I hear no audio (although I can press keys and they'll forward correctly on the DR)...

    I call from any other line (or cell), and I hear the DR correctly. I can't explain it.
     
  2. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Codecs?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. SIPfun

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a preferred codec order?

    Can I mix and match between the VOIP provider and the extensions?
     
  4. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    0
    For VoIP provider - yes, you can set it in provider's settings.
    Phones have codecs order in their own settings. We can not force it in any way.
    Binding VoIP provider to media server may help you to solve the problem.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. darrellchapman

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your provider should provide you with a preferred order or at least which codecs they are capable of using. Beyond that it's a matter of personal preference (others may argue this point, though).

    Mine are set in this order:
    G.729
    G.711 U-law
    G.711 A-Law
    GSM

    One of my providers does not support G.729 so I obviously don't use that codec with that provider.

    Yes, you can mix and match and define different codecs your phone will use however I believe that you need to set 3CX up so that "PBX delivers audio." This way 3CX can transcode the data in the other codec (if necessary).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. SIPfun

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    G.729 isn't available in any of my ATAs... And it looks like my VOIP provider uses G.711 U-law, and all my ATAs are set to that.

    Strangely, the one-way audio from my cell went away.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.