Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Can't import csv

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by SimonKitch, Jan 13, 2017.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SimonKitch

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've exported edited and tried to re import a csv file containing extension settings but i'm getting this error?
    Must specify valid information for parsing in the string.
     
  2. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,326
    Likes Received:
    532
    Hello @SimonKitch

    What did you edit in the file if i may ask? You can get this error if some required values are empty or if wrong values are used in some fields.
     
  3. Wendelspanswick

    Wendelspanswick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    3
    When you export a file Word opens it as a .csv file, when you modify it and then save to import make sure you save it as a .csv (msdos) and NOT just a .csv otherwise it screws up the tabbing.
     
  4. SimonKitch

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've populated the columns that had data already but left the rest blank as there are a lot of them. Tried saving as .csv (msdos) but that didn't help either?
     
  5. YiannisH_3CX

    YiannisH_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    7,326
    Likes Received:
    532
    Try opening the file and delete all rows except one. Make sure it's a new entry and see if that works. That should make it easier to troubleshoot where the error is
     
  6. Wendelspanswick

    Wendelspanswick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just to add make sure all the columns are there.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.