can't make outbound calls (SPA 3102)

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by S-F, Jul 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. S-F

    S-F

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all. I'm new to the world of 3CX and am jumping in with both feet here trying to use it with Skype. At any rate I have two questions at the moment.

    First: I can't make outgoing calls. I'm using a Linksys SPA2102. Here's a log of what happens:

    Code:
    14:09:22.846  [CM503020]: Normal call termination. Reason: Not available
    14:09:22.846  [CM503016]: Call(1): Attempt to reach <sip:9@192.168.0.9> failed. Reason: Temporarily Unavailable
    14:09:22.846  [CM503003]: Call(1): Call to sip:19@127.0.0.1:6060 has failed; Cause: 480 Temporarily Unavailable; from IP:127.0.0.1:6060
    14:09:22.846  [CM505002]: Gateway:[skypeserver] Device info: Device Not Identified: User Agent not matched; Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [3CXSkypeGateway 2.0.9919.0] PBX contact: [sip:10000@127.0.0.1:5060]
    14:09:22.846  [CM503002]: Call(1): Alerting sip:10000@127.0.0.1:6060;rinstance=b16725ee50456d15
    14:09:22.628  [CM503025]: Call(1): Calling PSTNline:19@(Ln.10000@skypeserver)@[Dev:sip:10000@127.0.0.1:6060;rinstance=b16725ee50456d15]
    14:09:22.596  [CM503004]: Call(1): Route 1: PSTNline:19@(Ln.10000@skypeserver)@[Dev:sip:10000@127.0.0.1:6060;rinstance=b16725ee50456d15]
    14:09:22.534  [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:9@192.168.0.9>
    14:09:22.487  [CM505001]: Ext.10: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: Linksys;Mod: SPA Series;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, no-replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [Linksys/SPA2102-3.3.6] PBX contact: [sip:10@192.168.0.9:5060]
    14:09:22.471  [CM503001]: Call(1): Incoming call from Ext.10 to <sip:9@192.168.0.9>
    I'm not sure if it's a country code issue since I start to get the busy signal as soon as I hit the first key.

    Any ideas? I can receive calls just fine.

    Second: How do I record a voicemail greeting? I didn't see any mention of it in the manual.

    Thanks everyone.
     
  2. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. S-F

    S-F

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the email information. And thanks for moving the thread. I assumed that it was a Skype related issue since so many other people reported similar issues. I'll try to get Linksys tech support on the phone.
    But if anyone out there has any knowledge that could help at all please let me know. I'm assuming that Linksys isn't particularly familiar with 3CX and that might cause difficulties for them in assisting me.
     
  4. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,868
    Likes Received:
    304
    OK, is there a 3102 involved (somewhere) or just the 2102? You are dialling ...9, and expecting to send, what digits (looks like 19) out to Skype.
     
  5. S-F

    S-F

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a 2102. And I don't know what I'm doing at all. I have tried an enormous combination of rules and calling options. If need be I can produce a concise explanation of the methods I have used.

    None the less, Thanks for the reply!
     
  6. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,868
    Likes Received:
    304
    What digits do you want to dial on the set and what digits do you want to send out on the Skype trunk?
     
  7. S-F

    S-F

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's a good question. Honestly I'm not sure what the best plan is. Ideally I would dial the 10 digit number preceded by a 1. As far as Skype is concerned, the GUI only demands that I dial the 10 digits and it takes care of the +1 which used to be needed. These are almost 100% calls within the US.
     
  8. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,868
    Likes Received:
    304
    Well, I find that going with an access digit, typically "9", will give the flexibility for any future additions.

    So you create an outbound rule, call it Skype, that has 91, 12 digits long, strip 1 digit (the 9), and send the remaining out on the Skype trunk. That would send any 91xxxxxxxxxx number dialed from the set out to Skype.

    You may also have to tweak the dialplan in the 2102, it previews the number you are dialing an will decide what is valid and when to send the digits to 3CX. Here is one site http://www.netphonedirectory.com/pap2_dialplan.htm (there are a number if you do some searching), that may help. You might not have to touch it to begin with, If it works at first, great, make note of how it is currently so that if you do some changes you can always go back.
     
  9. S-F

    S-F

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the help.

    So is this set up properly?

    [​IMG]
     
  10. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,868
    Likes Received:
    304
    No, Put the "91" in the Calls to numbers staring with (Prefix)

    Calls from extension(s) can be left blank unless you want to limit this rule to only that extension.

    Remove the 91 from Prepend, you don't need to prefix the outgoing digits, after you strip off the 9 (that's the 1 digit), you want to send the remaining out "as is:..
     
  11. S-F

    S-F

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK thanks. I got it now I think.

    About the dial plan, I followed the guide here http:/ /www.3cx.com/voip-gateways/linksys-3102/ - NO LONGER AVAILABLE for configuring the SPA3102 as an ATA and it says to simply enter [x*] for the dial plan. I can't tell what this will do from reading that guide you linked me to but it doesn't look like much. Will that just allow me to make all of the rules in 3CX instead of tinkering with the 2102? I don't see why I need to tinker with this section at all. Obviously I'm missing something.
    And I didn't even think to copy what was originally on there. It was nothing but gibberish to me at the time. If I restore it to factory defaults will that come back?

    EDIT:
    Well, it's still not working. I dial 91 (are code) (number) and I get the immediate busy signal right off the bat again.

    Here's the log:

    Code:
    15:32:14.906  [CM503020]: Normal call termination. Reason: Not found
    15:32:14.906  [CM503016]: Call(3): Attempt to reach <sip:9@192.168.0.9> failed. Reason: Not Found
    15:32:14.906  [CM503014]: Call(3): No known route to target: <sip:9@192.168.0.9>
    15:32:14.890  [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:9@192.168.0.9>
    15:32:14.890  [CM505001]: Ext.10: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: Linksys;Mod: SPA Series;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, no-replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [Linksys/SPA2102-3.3.6] PBX contact: [sip:10@192.168.0.9:5060]
    15:32:14.890  [CM503001]: Call(3): Incoming call from Ext.10 to <sip:9@192.168.0.9>
    15:31:32.515  [CM503020]: Normal call termination. Reason: Not found
    15:31:32.515  [CM503016]: Call(2): Attempt to reach <sip:9@192.168.0.9> failed. Reason: Not Found
    15:31:32.515  [CM503014]: Call(2): No known route to target: <sip:9@192.168.0.9>
    15:31:32.515  [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:9@192.168.0.9>
    15:31:32.500  [CM505001]: Ext.10: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: Linksys;Mod: SPA Series;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, no-replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [Linksys/SPA2102-3.3.6] PBX contact: [sip:10@192.168.0.9:5060]
    15:31:32.500  [CM503001]: Call(2): Incoming call from Ext.10 to <sip:9@192.168.0.9>

    EDIT 2:

    I just reset the device and there was some complicated dial plan in there so I just left it. And now it works!

    Here's what it is:
    Code:
    (*xx|[3469]11|0|00|[2-9]xxxxxx|1xxx[2-9]xxxxxxS0|xxxxxxxxxxxx.)
    Now I just need to get the email working and record a voicemail greeting.
     
  12. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,868
    Likes Received:
    304
    Do some research on the Linksys dialplans, there is a lot of info on line. The dialplan that you had put in was probably blocking your calls. The default plan that you got back after the reset, is a generic North America plan. If it works for you, great. Here is a site that has a bit more info for a time when you feel bored and want to start experimenting. http://www.scribd.com/doc/238209/LinksysSipura-Dial-Plan-tutorial

    For the time being, something like this would work for you. If you added a local number access trunk then you would have to add to it.

    (*xx|[1-9]xS0|91xxx[2-9]xxxxxxS0)

    To record an outgoing VM message, make sure VM is enabled for your extension, then dial 99 (if you've chosen a two digit extension number scheme). Listen to the menu selections, it's in there. If you have problems dialing 99 or any other number(s), then you need to tweak the dialplan in the Linksys.

    Do some research, the more you read, the more it will make sense, look over some of the examples.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.