Cell phone in Ring Group

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by joebergquist, Oct 18, 2007.

1. joebergquist

I am new to 3CX.

I have ports on firewall forwarded per instructions in the forum.

I have defined an extension 201, it is set to forward all calls to a cell phone. From IVR or Eyebeam, I dial extension 201 and call forwards to cell phone as expected.

I defined a Ring Group 802 including extension 201. The cell phone does not ring. Eyebeam at extension 201 rings even though all calls should be forwarded to the cell phone.

Any ideas? Thanks.

2. miraportuga

miraportuga Member

In that cases, i believe that, if the phone is not registered wich it must be the case, it wont simply do anything.... Dont know if its a 3CX issue or if its really like that...

Cheers

3. joebergquist

How do you set up a cell phone to ring as part of a ring group or can only SIP extensions be part of a ring group?

4. miraportuga

miraportuga Member

I believe that only registered devices can make part of a ring group, still, better to wait for more answers....
    Now, to workaround that, your could simply, set up a softphone and forward the call after like 2 seconds of ringing to that extension to the cell phone... i think that this way it will work, becouse you have a phone registered....

Cheers

5. Mirzab

Mirzab Member

I can confirm for certain that ring groups will ignore unregistered extensions. I have also created a registered extension on a softphone set to forward to my mobile as part of the ring group with no success, only the registered non-forwarded extensions ring. I haven't had time to spare creating a reasonable work around and with v4 knocking on the door, it may be wasted time anyway.

6. bhavank

bhavank New Member

you can also use always forward function for the extension so when person dial that it, it will go to your mobile phone wihtout any delay.....

7. Mirzab

Mirzab Member