CFD - route to recording in queue after 60 seconds

Discussion in 'Call Flow Designer' started by Scot Busby, Sep 2, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Scot Busby

Hello,

I am new to CFD and have build my main auto attendant to route calls based on input from the caller. When a caller lands in a queue, they will hear music on hold until answered. I am trying to modify the queue object to create a condition whereby after 60 seconds a recording is played telling them how to press 2 for a callback if they don't want to wait longer in the queue.

This seems like an easy concept, but I am not finding how I can easily setup a 60 second counter which I can use to trigger the playback option.

BTW - I am not a C# programmer, but have a basic understanding of structured programming.

Thank you!

2. edossantos

edossantos Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

Hi @Scot Busby,

You can configure the queue parameter "Maximum Queue Wait Time (seconds)" to 60 seconds, and then set the queue to transfer the call to a CFD app after that time. Then, the CFD app can use a Menu component to ask the caller if they want a callback, or they want to keep waiting. If they want a callback, save the caller number somewhere (a database for example), and if they want to keep waiting you transfer the call back to the queue.

The only trade off is that if the caller wants to keep waiting, they will lose their position in the queue, because the call being transfered back to the queue will be considered a new call for that queue, and then put at the end.

Then you need another mechanism to take the calls for example from the database, and make the callbacks to customers when an agent is available. You can use a CFD dialer to do that.

Also, please note that queue statistics will show calls transfered to the CFD app as missed calls, because the maximum queue wait time is reached for those calls...

Kind regards.