Change default 3CX MyPhone port

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jonathanbaird, Nov 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jonathanbaird

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Could somebody please offer some advice on the 3CX Multi Tenant solution that 3CX offer. Basically I am wondering if it is possible to use the 3CX MyPhone program in conjunction with the 3CX Multi Tenant system. I know the 3CX MyPhone has the ability to work externally by setting up port forwarding and going to http://[PUBLICIP]:5000/myphone but if we had the 3CX Multi Tenant, obviously the public IP would be the same for all 10 clients, is it possible to change the port so that if one client comes in on port 5000, they get their PBX and say another client comes in on port 5001, they get their PBX also if that makes sense? That way we can forward a range of ports say 5000-5009 to the internal IP of the 3CX Multi Tenant system here on site?

    Could somebody please advise.

    Kind regards,

    Jonathan.
     
  2. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,947
    Likes Received:
    178
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jpillow

    jpillow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    With Multi tenant intall each pbx will have a different port for the console ie 5001, 5002 etc each pbx myphone clients will use that specific port. for that specific pbx.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. markshehan

    markshehan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are two ways to do multi tenant with 3cx.

    One way is to do the defaults that 3cx gives you. So you increase all ports by 1000 for each tenant (e.g T1 5060, 5000, 5090 etc. R2 6060, 6000, 6090 etc.).

    The other way is our preferred way. If you are hosting multi tenant 3cx for people then you have some form of hosting setup which included multiple public ips. In which case we set up a public ip for each tenant. Then they all have the same ports (5060, 5000) etc but different public ips.

    For extra security we also 1 to 1 NAT those public ips to a private internal ip so the 3cx tenants are all protected as is the server they are all on.

    It also makes it easier if you ever split or move them to another install as they only have to change the public ip on the phones and not all the ports too.

    The downside to this is that involves an extra 20 minutes or so when you initially set them up as tenant 2 onwards has the non 5xxx default ports so you have to go and change them. But it is a one off on set up. We prefer to set up this way as it is less support in the future when people start adding softphones etc.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jonathanbaird

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perfect, thanks for all the responses.
     
  6. sigma1

    sigma1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you have multiple IP addresses that it's wise to use a Hypervisor and supply individual Virtual Servers to each client. The point of the Multi Tenant is to work off of one IP.

    Getting creative with NAT as with Port translation as DSTNAT and SSCNAT is a recipe for disaster and a half baked basement idea that does not belong in a business network but a test lab. Use the multi-tenant as intended, if you are a hosting provider and don't like the idea of purchasing an OS for each instance, check the Microsoft SPLA.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.