Changing CoDec's on a phone

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by cjammer, Jul 4, 2007.

  1. cjammer

    cjammer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I changes the CoDec in my Grandstream phone, do I have to change it some where in the 3cx console? Does 3cx auto negotiate the Codec with the client phone?

    I think another thread alluded to this, but I can t seem to find that.

    Is the prefered order...

    GSM
    G.711
    G.711u
    PCM

    Thanks!
     
  2. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    You don't need to configure anything related to codecs. There is only one exception, you may choose set and order of codecs that will be offered to VoIP provider when you make outbound call. For all other cases, automatic negotiation is used.
     
  3. nickybrg

    nickybrg Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    15
    Hi -

    As a continuation to what SY replied, the preferred order is the following
    G711u
    G711a
    GSM


    The 3CX phone system supports two more types of codecs but the above are the most widely used.
    Nik
     
  4. cjammer

    cjammer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the GXP-2000 the codecs listed are:

    PCMA
    PCMU
    GSM
    G.723.1
    G.726-32
    G.729A/B

    Is the PCMU and PCMA the same as G.711U and G.711A?
     
  5. nickybrg

    nickybrg Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,621
    Likes Received:
    15
    ""Is the PCMU and PCMA the same as G.711U and G.711A? ""

    Hi roger - Yes
    The PCMU and PCMA are the same as G711 U and G711 A (just different names)

    nik
     

Share This Page