Choppy Sound on Downlink

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by RobLloyd, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. RobLloyd

    RobLloyd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have choppy sound internally? If you do then there is something wrong with your network - not enough bandwidth, cheap switches, etc. If your equipment will do it, turn on QOS (Quality of Service). That should help internally.

    If it's from the 3102, then it's the 3102 giving problems. I have not used that one myself but others have gotten it to work with little to no issues.
    AudioCodes and Patton gateways are getting much better reviews for sound quality and reliability.

    If you're getting choppy sound from a VoIP providor give them a call. Mine has helped quite a bit to resolve issues or at least traced them down to uncontrollable outside sources.
     
  2. GrahamNR17

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had this on my line from a VoIP provider. Cured when I unbound the line from the media server.
     
  3. archie

    archie Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,309
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm really sorry, but we can not figure out the reason without any logs, captures, etc. Just verbal explanation is not enough for us, sorry.
     
  4. miraportuga

    miraportuga Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its ok archie, we forgive you :p hehe

    cheers(lol)
     
  5. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bruce,

    Could you please help me to answer your question?

    Please make a capture of network traffic using WireShark (on PBX host).
    Just for one call with "choppy" audio. Send it to me. Make a call for at least 10-15 seconds(it is better is duration will be longer, ~30 sec). I need to analyze RTP traffic to answer your question.

    It is really important to find real reason of such issue, and you have a good environment to catch it.

    Thanks
     
  6. darryla

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found that by increasing the thread priority to all of the 3CX services the quality of my calls, my on hold music and my call attendant improved. I set mine to "High".

    I used Process Explorer from Sys Internals (Now owned by Microsoft) to change the priority.

    The bad part is that after a reboot the services will get set back to Normal.

    There are supposedly tools around that will keep them set right. I'd love to have a batch file run on a Scheduled Task to do it for me, but I haven't found a command yet.
     
  7. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    It doesn't matter free version or not. Could you please just collect information? Pleeeease :)

    Thanks
     
  8. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: QOS issues from ISP

    Bruce,
    3CX PBX doesn't work on hops.
    Just capture the traffic on PBX host. Pleeeeeease :)
    Thanks
     
  9. fjkeith

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am experiencing similar problems with the Media Server (bad delay in my case, see forum thread

    http://www.3cx.com/forums/categories-1/3cx-phone-system-general-1/latency-expectations-through-3cx-server-2964/

    I also just tried to change the process priority on the Media Server to "Realtime" via task manager and got denied even through I was logged in as admin.

    Anyone know how to change the priority? Better yet, how to eliminate the 130 mS delay in the Media Server?

    thanks!
     
  10. darryla

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    To change the thread priority, you need this tool:

    http://www.beyondlogic.org/consulting/processutil/processutil.htm

    Then create a batch file and put these lines in it:

    process -p 3CXPhoneSystem.exe high
    process -p 3CXMediaServer.exe high
    process -p 3CXIVRServer.exe high
    process -p 3CXVBMServer.exe high

    Then, schedule the batch file to run every day at 9:00am or something. That should do it.
     

Share This Page