CISCO 7941 not register

Discussion in 'Windows' started by INEM, Aug 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. INEM

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello folks,

    I followed this tutorial from 3cx: http://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/dhcp-option-66/, but I have some questions if anyone can help me, thanks in advance.

    I'm trying to configure a Cisco phone model 7941 on 3CX version 11.

    The first question I ask is the following:

    In the Option 66 on the DHCP server i need to put the value: http://192.168.3.155:5000/provisioning/$MA.xml or http://192.168.3.155:5060/provisioning/$MA.xml or is neither of these?

    After following this tutorial, I go to the next: http://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/cisco-7940G-7960g/

    My question here is that when I Go to the "Extensions" node and click on "Add Extension" to create a new extension. Click on the "Model" field and from the drop down list select Either Cisco 7940/7941/7960 or 7961.

    My model does not appear, actually not appear any 79xx, why?

    In short I can not register my phone in 3CX successfully, all softphones are working properly!

    Regards,
    INEM
     
  2. roland_3CX

    roland_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi Inem,

    The Cisco 7941 are supported in V12 and not in V11. You will need to upgrade.
     
  3. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,868
    Likes Received:
    304
    I've had some time recently to "tackle" the Cisco sets, and on version 12 have now got several working. once provisioned, they will work on an older set-up as long as all of the settings match, and the provisioning is not overwritten. If you plan on remaining with version 11, you could set-up a test version of 12 using a backup from version 11 keeping all settings identical. Of course this also requires a second router, or the use of the network during downtime when you can unplug the operating PBX and plug in the new, test, version 12. This also gives you an opportunity to evaluate version 12 for a future upgrade.

    As far as option 66, you should only have to supply the IP of the tftp server. In the tftp server itself, you can specify which directory(s) in which to find the provisioning file(s). Recently I've been using Pumpkin, running on the 3CX server PC, as recommended by 3CX. By default it does not start automatically after a system re-boot.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.