Cisco 7960 SIP update problem

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by tms, Apr 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tms

    tms

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I'm trying to update cisco 7960 to SIP but so far haven't succeeded.

    Currently phone has 6.0(1.0) probably original version and am trying to update it to SIP 08-8-00 When phone contacts to TFTP it says:

    File not found: SEP<macaddress> and Load ID incorrect

    I have these files @ TFTP server

    OS79XX.txt
    P0S3-08-8-00.loads
    P0S3-08-8-00.sb2
    P003-08-8-00.bin
    P003-08-8-00.sbn
    SIP<mac>.cnf
    SIPDefault.cnf
    XMLDefault.cnf.xml

    I have also tried with SEP<mac>.cnf.xml but actually I'm not sure is my load information correct.

    One annoying thing more is that phone loses TFTP Server information and I need to config it again and again...Help & Ideas are much appreciated! Thanks in advance.
     
  2. tms

    tms

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update: I tried now older version 7.0 and got in to spot where phone actually loads the sbn file but then it fails and says "Application Upgrade Failed"
     
  3. sipero123

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    The way I've done this myself is by installing tftpd32 on a local machine to use as my tftp and dhcp server. You can download tftpd32 from the following web site http://tftpd32.jounin.net/

    At this url you'll find an explanation of how to upgrade/change the firmware to SIP http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,14822357

    If you have any other questions or problems then please let me know.



    Jonathan Hamon
     
  4. home

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    I believe that you need to upgrade to POS3-07-4-00 first as this upgrades the application installer (loader), and then you can upgrade to the latest SIP image available
     
  5. ciscotech2007

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    The cisco 79XX series of IP hardphones was and is Cisco's mainline of IP hardphone endpoints.

    These phones come in several packages from cisco;

    (1) 79XX with Call Manager License with SCCP firmware installed from factory
    (1) 79XX Spare with Call Manager License with SCCP firmware installed from factory
    (1) 79XX without license with SCCP firmware installed from factory
    (1) 79XX Spare without license with SCCP firmware installed from factory

    There's little to no one here at 3CX that runs Cisco IP PBXs (i.e. Call Manager & Call Manager Express), except me and Mike Harris. So do not purchase a Cisco endpoint with a Call Manager License.

    As previously stated most if not all IP phones DIRECT from Cisco come preloaded with Cisco SCCP firmware. SOME, but not all, Cisco 79XX series IP hardphones support multiple protocols such as SCCP, SIP and MGCP. SCCP is Cisco's VoIP standard, SIP is the industry standard and MGCP is a telecommunications standard of sorts.

    To correctly process a transition between a cisco IP hardphone from SCCP (most common base installed firmware) to SIP firmware following the flow below;

    (a) determine your make and mode of cisco IP hardphone. Determine it's SIP functionality via cisco's site, voipinfo.com or even ebay. What your looking for is 'Supported Protocols'. It should indicate 'SIP'.

    (b) determine your firmware currently installed in your cisco IP hardphone. This step is often overlooked but important. Because there is a cross-matrix of what SCCP to SIP conversion is available. Meaning, if you have a OLD SCCP build, you cannot upgrade directly to the latest SIP firmware from cisco. You will have to upgrade to a OLD SIP firmware first and basically upgrade 2,3,4 times until you get the correct STABLE, TESTED, and SUPPORED SIP firmware your project requires. Notice, I did not say the LATEST firmware... often the latest SIP firmware is not stable, nor supported, nor recommended for usage in production environments.

    More information here:
    http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/phones/ps379/products_tech_note09186a0080094584.shtml

    (c) Once you have determined your software information you need to locate valid cisco SIP firmware files. Notice I say FILES not not IMAGE or FILE. There are multiple files required for SIP conversion and SIP operation. Cisco SIP firmware can be located in various fashions, if you have a SMARTNET agreement like I do, you log in and download the software you need. But if you don't then its more complicated. Cisco, in their infinite wisdom has restricted most software downloads to only registered cisco users with ATTACHED SMARTNET agreements.

    Surprisingly the best way to locate the SIP you require is simply registering on cisco, so the download links allow you to select IP phone firmware, and you will get to the last screen showing the SIP file you need. You will not be able to download the files because you do not have a SMARTNET agreement BUT... you will see the file name 'P0S-8-2-XXX (whatever). Now cut and paste that exact filename into your google or yahoo. Some people out in cyberspace have uploaded their cisco SIP files to webservers. When you hit 'search' you should get several pages of websites with these files. Download them and your one step closer!

    (d) Basically... at this point because I could end up writing a 30 page instruction book....here is the short version
    (e) setup isolated PC with PUMPKIN TFTP server
    (f) put your cisco SIP files in the TFTP directory
    (g) boot up your cisco IP hardphone
    (h) point your cisco IP hardphone to your IP address of your PC with PUMKPIN TFTP

    now... with a 7941G or 79XX series with a LCD screen this would be as easy as navigating to the setting screen and select TFTP server and inputting your TFTP server IP address. But since your phone does not have a LCD you will have to use a wire-sniffer application like wireshark (wireshark.org). You will need to 'sniff' out what TFTP server IP address your phone is trying to locate. When you boot your phone up it will 'seek' out it's programmed TFTP server. Because you cannot use it's LCD screen (because it does not have one) you will need to 'sniff' out what IP is programmed into it from the previous owner or factory configuration. Once you find out it's IP and the IP it thinks is it's TFTP server... change your PC running PUMPKIN to that TFTP server IP address. That way... when your ip phone boots up.. it hits your PC and PUMPKIN requesting the firmware it needs to be upgraded.

    (i) upgrade the phone with the matrix compatible SIP firmware... then upgrade again into the next tier of SIP firmware...for instance SCCP OLD should be upgraded to SIP POS2XXX, then SIP POS3XXX, SIP POS4XXX. While some people would recommend going more... I have had better luck upgrading in smaller steps. Remember, WHEN YOU HIT SIP version 7 YOU CANNOT REVERT BACK TO a lower version of SIP.

    So as you can see... SIP on cisco phone... well, not fun. I would rather listen to my wife tell me how loud my cisco routers and switches are. Basically cisco wants you to use their IP phones on their solutions (i.e. CM, CME) and they want you using their protocol SCCP. So in turn they have made the SIP conversion process... well, sucky. Plus, once you convert cisco IP phones to SIP... they lose their webpage configuration ability. Plus, people have reported SIP converted phones freeze and have static in audio and do not operate as well as other SIP hardphones.

    Your solution is easy. For $30 - $50 grab a SNOM (mike your laughing I know cause you love these ugly little buddies) or Linksys SPA, or Polycom (which are nice but pain in the butt to setup as well).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. tms

    tms

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the tips and support. So I managed to get SIP firmware once, but then by mistake I connected phone to the network where is cisco call manager servers etc and it loaded old firmware back :evil:

    tftpd32 is nice, no need to play with linux dhcp.
     
  7. ciscotech2007

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cisco IP Phones are good.... but they are stinkers to get into SIP and have no issues...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Discovery Technology

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    The trick is all in the timing of when you put the config files into the TFTP Server's root folder directly...

    the SIP and SEP files go in after you perform an initial load of the txt, loads, bin and sbs files (two boots of the phone to get it to roll over to the SIP firmware)

    Refer to one of my previous posts for further detail...

    http://www.3cx.com/forums/what-phones-work-with-3cx-5030.html#p24219
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. canyon289

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I sniff out the TFTP request from the phone? When I plug it into my desktop using a crossover cable it stops at "configuring ip" and never requests data from tftp.
     
  10. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,769
    Likes Received:
    286
    Do you not have a Hub, Switch or , better yet, a Router to use rather than the crossover cable? Is the phone waiting for an IP from DHCP? Did you assign it a fixed IP? If not and there is no DHCP server, then it is going to wait to get an IP.
     
  11. canyon289

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Linksys router with DDwrt installed on it.
    It doesn't wait for an address when I connect it to my router. The router gives it an IP. However the TFTP times out as I don't know which address it's looking for. I have a Cisco 7960.
     
  12. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,769
    Likes Received:
    286
    You have to put the IP of the TFTP server PC in the phone. It goes out to retrieve the file from the server.
     
  13. canyon289

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's the trouble I'm having. The phone won't let me access the settings, I don't know what IP it's looking for and It won't accept Telnet sessions.
     
  14. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,769
    Likes Received:
    286
    You have to be able to change the TFTP server address (and port) in the phone or it's not going to work. You can't guess the IP that's datafilled. Unless you have the settings used in the last install location, then you are probably out of luck.
     
  15. canyon289

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, I was trying to figure out how this user sniffed out the address using wireshark
    This is from an above post

    Do you know how I could do this?
     
  16. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,769
    Likes Received:
    286
    You can run Wireshark, but you'll need a hub, not your router or a switch, or you won't see the messaging. Run a hub from your router and plug both the PC running Wireshark and the phone into the hub. If you do detect the TFTP server IP, you may have to "tweak" your networks IP's (DHCP server) to duplicate the network that the phone was used on previously.
     
  17. canyon289

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perfect. Thank you
     
  18. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,475
    Likes Received:
    94
    Hi,

    My suggestion is that if you can afford buying a cheap 3cx supported phone, go for it.
    The 79XX Cisco series is a bunch of stinking phones that will not work unless fully provisioned from an XML file. If you have one single mistake in the whole XML like a 0 instead of a "False" the phone rejects the whole thing and remains un-provisioned.

    In some 8.X.X versions Cisco changed some Fields from being "0" to "False" and that's caused a lot of users pain and Grief regarding these phones. ( Including me )

    You are going to spend hours of grief over this phone. It would be much easier to buy a "Real" phone that you can configure in 1 minute's time, no sweat.


    You cannot just plug the phone in the network and hope for it to work.
    1) You must have a DHCP Server on possibly a 2003 or 2008 Server Operating system, go to the DHCP Management, add a new entry: Add the Mac Address of the phone, forward all TFTP requests to the machine running your TFTP Server.
    - Only this way the phone will get an actual IP on the network and start requesting the Firmware files from your TFTP Server.

    And after you manage to Upgrade your SSCP Firmware to Cisco's SIP firmware which they sell for around 8Dollars per year you will have to Find / Make the configuration files yourself and hope the phone does not reject them.


    I'll post you some Configuration files for 7940/41 to try out, but i doubt they will work due to some minor differences in the XML structure.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. canyon289

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're totally right about this phone. I actually got it for free because it was causing a sys admin hours of grief. It then in turn caused me hours of grief.
    I managed to get it working and even got replaced the sccp firmware with sip. However I was moved from my house to my dormitory and now it stopped working. Goes from configuring Vlan to Obtaining ip, Requesting configuration to finally TFTP timeout. I wish the stupid phone would just let me get into it's config and let me specify an IP.
     
  20. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,475
    Likes Received:
    94
    I got a couple of these phones for free for the exact same reasons you did.
    Another guy couldn't take it anymore so he gave em to me, now that i have them up and running he's begging to have them back :p

    You could use the TFTPD server that's free online if it's DHCP / TFTP Binding configuration issues you're having.
    Download it, set it to work as both a TFTP and DHCP server specify the IP Range that you want the DHCP server to give, point the TFTP server to the folder with the configuration files and everything should go normally.

    Maybe you're getting a TFTP timeout because the TFTP server you specified in the DHCP settings on your server were incorrect?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.