Cisco Phones

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by stang9550, Jan 19, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stang9550

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do Cisco phones work with 3CX ? I've seen some really inexpensive prices for Cisco 7960's on eBay. Thanks!
     
  2. Mario_LCP

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    we have cisco 7940 running on 3CX. You have to alter the firmware to SIP.
    Only 1 gives problems with forwarding.

    Mario
     
  3. apostolis_3CX

    apostolis_3CX Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    15
    Hi stang9550,
    In the below link a list of supported SIP phones can be found.
    https://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/

    Cisco 7960 is under Legacy Limited feature set category and as stated It is strongly recommended to not purposely buy these devices new or as a replacement. Legacy phone devices have a limited feature set and can only be supported up to a certain point by the 3CX Support Team - you may well need to contact vendor support directly for some matters.
    https://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/cisco-7940g-7960g/
     
  4. eddv123

    eddv123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    173
    As per the link some Cisco legacy phones are supported with 3CX Phone system. These models are the:

    Cisco 7900 Series: 7940, 7941, 7960, 7961
    Cisco SPA Series: 302, 303, 501G, 502G, 504G, 508G, 509G, 512G, 514G, 525G/G2

    Limitations of Legacy Phones

    Cisco phones sit in the legacy phones “supported” section (but not preferred) what this means is that you will not get the full features and functionality that 3CX Phone System can provide. I have outlined some of these limitations below.

    Provisioning:

    Plug and play provisioning is not supported with Cisco phones – both for internal PnP and across the 3CX SBC. You can manually set them up but this is not recommended.

    You will need to configure the phones either using DHCP Option 66: http://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/dhcp-option-66/ or if you do not have a server available to facilitate Option 66 then you will need to manually configure or use the alternate provisioning option in the below link/guide:
    http://www.3cx.com/sip-phones/cisco-spa501g/

    CTI Mode with 3CX Softphone:

    Cisco phones do not work in CTI mode with 3CX Phone for Windows: http://www.3cx.com/user-manual/installation-windows/

    Limited "make call" functionality – System see’s the phone/Softphone as 2 different entities.
    Hosting & Remote extensions

    Various issues with Hosted (VPN with DHCP option 66 seems the only solid way to get them working) - no STUN no SBC:
    http://www.3cx.com/forums/post174313.html?hilit=Cisco#p174313
    http://www.3cx.com/forums/post167034.html?hilit=cisco hosted#p167034

    All the information on Cisco phones with 3CX can be found here:
    http://www.3cx.com/blog/tag/cisco/
     
  5. jimbo59

    jimbo59 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    77
    I got some 7960s for $10 each. I use them at home. Work great.
    Perfect for a warehouse or other seldom used area.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. stang9550

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a list of the features that would be missing or incompatible with 7960's or if anyone can make a recommendation on a decent and inexpensive phone that is currently supported. Thanks!
     
  7. eddv123

    eddv123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    173
    I am a big Yealink fan and think they have the best integration with 3CX however they aren't the cheapest.

    Where you will find the likes of the Yealink T19 affordable it is quite a basic phone.

    Take a look but I imagine you may find Htek and Fanvil cheaper.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.