Cisco7940 after recieving call no voice

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Jako, Sep 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jako

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I Hope there is help on this forum.

    I have a 3CX installation with 3 cisco 7940 phones and 1 planet phone. My installation of the cisco 7940 phones is done like the configuration guide from 3cx's discribed. The planet phone has not so much configuration settins en is like a standaard VOIP phone connectet to the 3CX server.

    The problem is the recieving calls on thes cisco's phone's. When we answerring a call we mostly don't hear the caller. The line seems to be death. The caller can hear us. After a few time switching on the phone between hold en resume sometimes we get the good connections. This is wierd for the caller because he can hear the switching between the music and the person. But most of the times whe have to call the person back.
    All the rest of the functions work perfectly, whe can call out without a problem.

    When we recieving calls on the planet Phone all calls are recieved perfectly. After a transfer to a cisco, the problem on the cisco stays. So i am pretty shure that the problem is on the Cisco's. because on a other phone it works fine.

    Is there a solution for this ?
     
  2. worksighted

    worksighted New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. If you call between 2 of the cisco phones can you hear each other?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. amygoda

    amygoda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is your external line?
    do you use stun server ?
     
  4. Jako

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    @amygoda:
    For the lines we have 2 ISDN with a patton gateway and 4 VOIP numberst from 3stars provider.
    The problem stays the same if we recizeve over the internet (VOIP) or over the ISDN. But the wierd thing is that the problem stays only when recieving on a Cisco. The planet Phone can recieve every phone call perfectly.

    @worksighted
    Calls between two cisco's there is no problem. There is a problem if 1 cisco recieved a call (with a bit of luck, hold, resume switching) and transfer these to another Cisco. With a transfer the problem is back. But not with a transfer to the planet Phone.

    In my little opinion a think a cisco problem? could it be ???
     
  5. worksighted

    worksighted New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have about 14 extensions as Cisco 7940s without any issues. Lets check a few things...

    First, what audio codec is the 7940 phone set to use?

    Second, do you have "PBX Delivers Audio" turned on or off in the PBX for these extensions?

    Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Jako

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well my codex is "g711alaw" like 3cx configuration guide prefer. I also tested a week with the "g711ulaw" codex. But the problem stayd the same.

    And yes a have "PBX Delivers Audio" ON.

    Also a had the firmware "P0S3-08-8-00" on and degraded it to "P0S3-08-2-00" to be sure a had exact the same version that the configuration of 3CX described. So now a im running P0S3-08-2-00.

    I hope this give you a better look at the problem.
     
  7. amygoda

    amygoda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello
    close all firewalls
    try other stun server
    try dmz
     
  8. worksighted

    worksighted New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    What happens if you disbale PBX delivers audio?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Jako

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    @amygoda:
    I did al these things. But after i think about it. There are direct ISDN lines that comes over a patton to the 3cx server. On these lines the problem is the same aldo there are not comming via a internet, firewall. So the problem is not the stun server, DMZ are Firewall.

    @worksighted :
    I disabled PABX Delivers audio. Tommorow a get feedback of this is working.

    And guys, thanks for finding a solution. I keep you posted tommorow.
     
  10. amygoda

    amygoda Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    what is your server firewall?
     
  11. Jako

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    The result of the disabeling off the PABX audio was not good. The problem stayed and di give an other problem. When making a call with the cisco's there was a second toon. You could hear 2 differtent waiting sounds (toon).

    The firewall of the server is the standard ISS from a SBS 2003 server (where i don't have expiriance with).

    Could there be other solutions for my problem, my boss is making me crazy. Whats normal because we loose 70 a 80% of are calls.
     
  12. worksighted

    worksighted New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you using tftp to load configurations to yoru cisco phones? If so....can you post sipdefault.cnf and <mac>.cnf

    Mike
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Jako

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like asked the config files

    Sip default:

    image_version: P0S3-08-2-00

    # Proxy Server
    proxy1_address: 192.168.38.55

    # Proxy Server Port (default - 5060)
    proxy1_port:5060

    # Proxy Registration (0-disable (default), 1-enable)
    proxy_register: 1

    # Phone Registration Expiration [1-3932100 sec] (Default - 3600)
    timer_register_expires: 60

    # Codec for media stream (g711ulaw (default), g711alaw, g729)
    preferred_codec: g711alaw

    #Logo URL
    logo_url: "http://192.168.38.55:80/SipPhone/logoVDE.bmp"

    # Setting voicemail
    messages_uri: "99"

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Phone config:

    # Sip Configuration Generic File
    image_version: P0S3-08-2-00

    # Phone Label
    Phone_label: Luc_VDE_

    # Line 1 appearance
    line1_name: 21

    # Line 1 Registration Authentication
    line1_authname: 21

    # Line 1 Registration Password
    line1_password: 21

    # Line 2 appearance
    line2_name:

    # Line 2 Registration Authentication
    line2_authname:

    # Line 2 Registration Password
    line2_password:
     
  14. Jako

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like you can see these are the config out the book like 3cx preferd.

    Any sugestions ?
     
  15. worksighted

    worksighted New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are copies of my working sipdefault.cnf and mac.cnf files for you......obviously you need to fill in xxxx's

    # Image Version
    image_version: "P0S3-08-9-00"

    # Proxy Registration (0-disable (default), 1-enable)
    proxy_register: "1"

    # Phone Registration Expiration [1-3932100 sec] (Default - 3600)
    timer_register_expires: "60"

    # Codec for media stream (g711ulaw (default), g711alaw, g729)
    preferred_codec: "g711alaw"

    # Allow for the bridge on a 3way call to join remaining parties upon hangup
    cnf_join_enable: "1" ; 0-Disabled, 1-Enabled (default)

    # Allow Transfer to be completed while target phone is still ringing
    semi_attended_transfer: "1" ; 0-Disabled, 1-Enabled (default)

    # Telnet Level (enable or disable the ability to telnet into this phone
    telnet_level: "2" ; 0-Disabled (default), 1-Enabled, 2-Privileged

    # Inband DTMF Settings (0-disable, 1-enable (default))
    dtmf_inband: "1"

    # Out of band DTMF Settings (none-disable, avt-avt enable (default), avt_always - always avt )
    dtmf_outofband: "none"

    # DTMF dB Level Settings (1-6dB down, 2-3db down, 3-nominal (default), 4-3db up, 5-6dB up)
    dtmf_db_level: "3"

    # SIP Timers
    timer_t1: "500" ; Default 500 msec
    timer_t2: "4000" ; Default 4 sec
    sip_retx: "10" ; Default 11
    sip_invite_retx: "6" ; Default 7
    timer_invite_expires: "180" ; Default 180 sec


    # Do Not Disturb Control (0-off, 1-on, 2-off with no user control, 3-on with no user control)
    dnd_control: "1" ; Default 0 (Do Not Disturb feature is off)

    # Caller ID Blocking (0-disabled, 1-enabled, 2-disabled no user control, 3-enabled no user control)
    callerid_blocking: "0" ; Default 0 (Disable sending all calls as anonymous)

    # Anonymous Call Blocking (0-disbaled, 1-enabled, 2-disabled no user control, 3-enabled no user control)
    anonymous_call_block: "0" ; Default 0 (Disable blocking of anonymous calls)

    # Call Waiting (0-disabled, 1-enabled, 2-disabled with no user control, 3-enabled with no user control)
    call_waiting: "1" ; Default 1 (Call Waiting enabled)

    # DTMF AVT Payload (Dynamic payload range for AVT tones - 96-127)
    dtmf_avt_payload: "101" ; Default 100

    # Network Media Type (auto, full100, full10, half100, half10)
    network_media_type: "auto"

    #Autocompletion During Dial (0-off, 1-on [default])
    autocomplete: "0"

    #Time Format (0-12hr, 1-24hr [default])
    time_format_24hr: "0"

    # URL for branding logo - blank loads cisco image
    logo_url: ""

    # Do Not Disturb Control (0-off, 1-on, 2-off with no user control, 3-on with no user control)
    dnd_control: "0" ; Default 0 (Do Not Disturb feature is off)

    call_waiting: "1"

    # Voicemail button
    messages_uri: 9999

    #time settings
    sntp_mode : DirectedBroadcast
    sntp_server : xx.xx.xx.xx
    time_zone : EST
    dst_offset : 1
    dst_start_month : Mar
    dst_start_day : 2
    dst_start_day_of_week : Sun
    dst_start_week_of_month : 1
    dst_start_time : 02
    dst_stop_month : Nov
    dst_stop_day : 1
    dst_stop_day_of_week : Sun
    dst_stop_week_of_month : 1
    dst_stop_time : 2
    dst_auto_adjust : 1


    ---------------------------------------------



    #SIP Config Generic File for 7940G
    image_version: "P0S3-08-9-00"

    # Proxy Server
    proxy1_address: "xxxxxxxx"
    proxy2_address: "xxxxxxxx"

    # Proxy Server Port (default - 5060)
    proxy1_port:"5060"
    proxy2_port:"5060"

    #Line 1 appearance
    line1_name: "xxxx"

    #Line 1 Registration Authentication
    line1_authname: "xxxx"

    #Line 1 Registration Password
    line1_password: "xxxxxxxx"

    #Line 2 appearance
    line2_name: "xxxx"

    #Line 2 Registration Authentication
    line2_authname: "xxxx"

    #Line 2 Registration Password
    line2_password: "xxxxxxxxx"

    # NAT/Firewall Traversal
    #nat_enable: "1"
    #nat_address: "xx.xx.xx.xx" ;
    #voip_control_port: "5060"
    #start_media_port: "16384"
    #end_media_port: "16397"
    #nat_received_processing: "1"

    # Phone Label
    phone_label: "xxxxxxxx" ;

    # Voicemail button
    messages_uri: "9999"
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Jako

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  17. Jako

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    At hte moment a im testing with the new config and firmware.

    Ill keep you posted. (fingers crosd)
     
  18. worksighted

    worksighted New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    you dont need the nat address part. That is used for remote phoens only. Just leave it commented out with the #
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. worksighted

    worksighted New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    and you will want to change the firmware reference to whatever you are using.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. Jako

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ower first expirience with the new config is good.

    The calls are comming perfectly, whe have to waite till tomorrow to be sure of this evaluation.

    What did i do:
    Change the firmware of the cisco's to P0S3-08-9-00
    Change the config to the standaard that is posted in this thread. (I did change the IP's and extensions :) )

    One thing a have to test is without the "NAT" setting.
    @worksighted : Are you sure that this would give influence to this at the moment good working system ??

    There is only one problem that stays:
    The outside calls are recieving well. When we want to transfer it the ather person, he recieve the call but have to push 1 time hold and resume. After that there is a perfect communication.
    This is a office with a few persons (in the same deskspace) so it isn't neccesary to first contact the person and after that pass the line to that person. Could it be possible that the problem would be gone if we could configure after piking up a external line, directly pass the line true another extension without waiting till thy pick up.
    This would be better and maybe the problem dissepiar.

    Thanks in advance
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.