CODEC Preferences

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by msnyder, Aug 2, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. msnyder

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is there a way to set the CODECs preferences on a system level instead of by individual extension>
     
  2. tim942

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've done it before with hard coding changes in the template.
     
  3. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,582
    Likes Received:
    249
  4. tim942

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    Found the file:
    C:\Program Files\3CX Phone System\Bin\3CXPhoneSystem.ini

    The line "LocalCodecs = PCMU PCMA G722 GSM G729" looks more relevant to a local phone deployment. I would love for a 3CX guy to chime in, only to answer if we can enter this into "instance1" and if this is kept after upgrading/updating (I've lost changes this way).

    Edit: I think the more logical solution is custom template, please see excerpt below of the standard Yealink Template:
    <Codecspriorities>
    <Codecspriority variableName="codec1" PayloadTypeName="payload1" priority="1">
    <!--The first entry is the selected entry in management console. codec1 will be replaced by value, payload1 will be replaced by payload-->
    <option value="0" payload="PCMU">PCMU</option>
    <option value="8" payload="PCMA">PCMA</option>
    <option value="18" payload="G729">G729</option>
    <option value="9" payload="G722">G722</option>
    </Codecspriority>
    <Codecspriority variableName="codec2" PayloadTypeName="payload2" priority="2">
    <!--The first entry is the selected entry in management console-->
    <option value="8" payload="PCMA">PCMA</option>
    <option value="0" payload="PCMU">PCMU</option>
    <option value="18" payload="G729">G729</option>
    <option value="9" payload="G722">G722</option>
    </Codecspriority>
    <Codecspriority variableName="codec3" PayloadTypeName="payload3" priority="3">
    <!--The first entry is the selected entry in management console-->
    <option value="9" payload="G722">G722</option>
    <option value="0" payload="PCMU">PCMU</option>
    <option value="8" payload="PCMA">PCMA</option>
    <option value="18" payload="G729">G729</option>
    </Codecspriority>
    <Codecspriority variableName="codec4" PayloadTypeName="payload4" priority="4">
    <!--The first entry is the selected entry in management console-->
    <option value="18" payload="G729">G729</option>
    <option value="0" payload="PCMU">PCMU</option>
    <option value="8" payload="PCMA">PCMA</option>
    <option value="9" payload="G722">G722</option>
    </Codecspriority>
    </Codecspriorities>
     
    #4 tim942, Aug 2, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2017
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,582
    Likes Received:
    249
    What are you attempting to achieve?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.