Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Comcast SIP trunk on premise

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by stever, Oct 25, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stever

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    13
    We currently have a traditional PBX with a PRI supplied by Comcast. We are thinking of moving to 3CX on premise with Comcast providing SIP trunks that terminate on premise. The Comcast termination device would have an internal IP. Does anyone have experience with this setup? If not, do you think we would have any problems?

    Pros:
    1. Been happy with our Comcast PRI
    2. Calls won't be traveling on the internet and will have Comcast QOS

    Cons:
    1. Not supported by 3CX
    2. Limits us to on premise installation

    Steve
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,073
    Likes Received:
    323
    Comcast supplies (or will supply) a PRI that will then terminate on a (3CX compatible) gateway, or Comcast also supplies the gateway?
     
  3. stever

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    13
    We would not longer have a PRI that terminates in house but rather a gateway type device that provides the SIP trunks. Their device (I think Adtran brand) would have an internal IP number that I would point my PBX toward.
     
  4. Sopock

    Sopock Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    20
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. stever

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    13
    My understanding was that I didn't need a second NIC card. I thought the process would be to set up a generic SIP provider and point it toward the Comcast gateway.
     
  6. Sopock

    Sopock Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    20
    And that gateway is also used for internet?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. stever

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    13
    The "gateway" (I may have the wrong term for that) is only for the SIP trunks. I would put the IP (internal IP on same subnet as PBX server) of the gateway in the Trunk Details of the 3CX SIP trunk setup page.
     
  8. jvivona

    Joined:
    May 18, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    10
    We just installed for a client with a similar scenario - although it was Charter, not Comcast. Their PBX has an address similar to 10.0.0.10 and the Charter gateway has an address of 10.0.0.11. Just add a generic SIP trunk with that IP as the gateway IP - we put the same address in for the proxy - but it's un-necessary. Charter uses an IP Based deliver - so they needed to know the PBX internal IP in advance - but that's easy.

    We use a number of providers who don't have (or previously had, but no longer) a SIP template. We use the generic template and tweak the parameters as needed.

    The customer with the local net gateway is super happy, call quality is comparable to the PRI.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cobaltit

    cobaltit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,561
    Likes Received:
    237
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. stever

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    13
    That's good news. It sure seems like it is the way to go with on premise if you have concern about call quality or latency. Not sure if the SLA is as good for SIP as it is for PRI, but our PRI has only gone down once in the last two years and that was only for 1.5 hours.
     
  11. cobaltit

    cobaltit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,561
    Likes Received:
    237
    The service delivered should be identical as far as reliability. Effectively all you are changing in the current call path is the PRI gateway getting replaced with the ESG.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. phil@lgmanor.com

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Comcast will provide (usually) an adtran. Your enterprise manager will give you a form to fill out with the internal IP of your 3CX and what IP you would like the adtran to be (in the same subnet). That adtran IP will become the IP you connect to.

    3CX is fully supported by Comcast. There is a full tested solution with sample setup for 15.x.

    Here is the TekVision certification testing and sample configuration file. (3rd party SIP certification testing company)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. stever

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks everyone for the good information! Gives me confidence that we are going in the right direction.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.