Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Conecting Analogical line to 3CX PBX

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jlabuelo, Feb 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jlabuelo

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all

    We would like to add an analogical line from a phone company to our PBX which is run by the OpenSource Version of 3CX, but we are not sure how to do it and if it is possible.

    Let me explain how the phone architecture works in our office

    a) we have a VoIP provider connected to our PBX

    b)PBX is a Windows XP server which runs 3CX PBX software OpenSource

    c) Each pc in the office is using the 3CX SIP phone connected to the PBX

    We would like to add now an analogical line to our PBX so our people can call and receive calls in their 3CX SIP Phone using the analogical line conncted to the PBX. We have readed in the forums that we would need to connect the analogical line to a FXO gateway but we are not very sure how to do it.

    Any recommendations on how to do this? Any FXO gateway you recommend? Do you think the idea is correct? Is is possible to have the FXO Gateway inside the server connected by PCI?

    Any manual or suggestion will be very appreciated

    Regards
     
  2. semn

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Yes, you need to have a FXO box to can connect an external line ( PSTN line). Take a look at the supported boxes( in the PSTN area) and after that take a decision. Me personally i use an AudioCodes box. However this box it's a little bit complicated to configure and also it's not official supported. From my experience i can recommended Patton boxes. ( depend of how many FXO line you need).

    Have a nice day.

    George
     
  3. jlabuelo

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Thanks a lot

    For the moment we only need to incorporate one analogical line. How difficult the 3CX PBX configuration would be? Will 3CX detect the new analogical line as easy as when you try to connect a VoIP provider to the PBX?

    Thanks a lot
     
  4. KerryG

    KerryG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing is that automatic, but here is a video that shows how easy it is to configure a Patton gateway. Even though this is for the PRI version, the steps for the analog version are basically identical.

    http://www.voipstore.com/configuring-a-patton-4960-pri-gateway-with-3cx/
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jlabuelo

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks a lot will take a look!!

    Cheers
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.