Conference calling

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by t4mack, Aug 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. t4mack

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone,

    It seems there is an issue with adding an outside caller to a conference call if the conference call is already created. They can't be transferred to extension 700. You can transfer them to the extension of a user in the conference call, but what if their phone itself doesn't have a conference call button. does anyone know of a way to do this?
     
  2. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    99
    Hi,

    There don't seem to be any problems transferring an external call to 700 from my tests here.
    Maybe you're doing something wrong?
    As long as your phone has a "Transfer" button, you can simply transfer people to 700 and let them join the conference by themselves.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. t4mack

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I do know about doing it from the phone itself, but what about the assistant. Currently I don't think there is a way. I have already put in a feature request for this. Please vote for it if interested. Thanks for the help.
     
  4. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    99
    The latest uploaded version of the 3CX Assistant should have this functionality actually.

    It's very simple actually. You just click on any extension in the interface, and right click > Create Conference Call, then you can add any internal or external callers you want.

    It should be there :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. skagen

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am also having an issue when creating a conference with the assistant where I cannot add an external line to the participants. Internal extensions work fine, but when I put in an external number and click ok, the pbx calls the internal users, and when they pick up, there is dead air, and the external number does not get called. I have double checked the number and my required prefix. I have added a mobile number to my extension and when I right click my extension and select call mobile, it works fine. Why not with the conference calls?
     
  6. MichaelB

    MichaelB Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi, can you send me your outbound rule configuration.
    You can just post me a screen-shot or else send it to mb@3cx.com.
    Thanks
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. stuart.rendall

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Using the call assistant is a much easier and successful way of creating a conference call.
    When you do this, you do not need to set up a conference identifier, which means that additional folk cannot join the conference later on by calling, or tranferring external calls to, extension 700.

    Is there any way to achieve this?

    Additionally, is it possible to invite a third party into a current call?
     
  8. GJHmf

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I too am having difficulty having 3CX dial out to external participants in a conference call set up in Assistant. All internal participants are called and included; but external participants aren't even dialled.

    Setting up a conference where external participants can dial into works fine. I just want to get the Assistant conference creation working for us.

    Thanks,


    GJHmf
     
  9. chrischevy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem.

    To fix it, I created an more general outbound rule that I placed last with the following settings:

    Prefix: none
    From extension: none
    Length of: 10,11
    Strip Digit: 0

    Give it a try
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. GJHmf

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent, thanks; that worked like a charm!

    To add to this, I ensured I selected my VoIP Provider's name from the first drop-down in the routing.
     
  11. chrischevy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad to hear that it helped you.

    I did face another issue this week:

    There was an active conference with 6-7 users on extension 7000 (which users really like btw).
    While this conference call was active, I could not create another conference by right clicking in the 3CX Assistant.
    There was nothing happening when starting the conference, even with only internal extensions.
    I tried the same thing later, when the 7000 conference was finished and it worked perfectly.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. SY

    SY Well-Known Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you have configured only 4 conference rooms then only 4 conferences may be active simultaneously.
    7000 is not a conference room. It is the "gatekeeper" which allows you to occupy (or connect to) the one of conference rooms by dialing 7000 from your phone.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. chrischevy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Under Settings, Advanced, Conferencing, it states that I can have 10 conferences at the same time.

    I did the test again and as soon as I create a conference using 7000, I can not use the right-click in the assistant to create another one. Nothing happens.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. abc123

    abc123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1
    You cannot be in 2 conferences at the same time.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. chrischevy

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the test with 3 extensions:
    On my extension (A), I dial 7000 and create a new conference

    On another extension (B), I try to create another conference in the 3CX assistant with extension (C): nothing happens.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. abc123

    abc123 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    1

    I just replicated this bug and looked at the 3cx logs. There is no log of the assistant trying to set up the conference.

    It seems the assistant is trying to use the first conference.

    If i set up a conference and then try to set up a second conference by dialing the code it works. It is only if the assistant tries to set up a new conference.

    Do you have a support contract? If not let me know and I will raise it with support given that it appears to be a bug.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.