Dismiss Notice
We would like to remind you that we’re updating our login process for all 3CX forums whereby you will be able to login with the same credentials you use for the Partner or Customer Portal. Click here to read more.

Configuring Patton SmartNode SN4114 VoIP Media Gateway

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by ahmed24, Apr 15, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ahmed24

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a Patton SmartNode SN4114 VoIP media gateway with 4 FXS and FXO Ports.

    I want to use it to receive and make calls on my Analog PSTN line. I followed the 3CX guide and tried the following but none seem to work.

    First method I tried is as follows:

    • * Went to Add Gateway and gave it a name
      * Selected brand as Patton
      * Then for Model there doesnt seem to be much options only Analog FXO, FXS 2 port, and FXS 4 port. So I selected Analog FXO.
      * Then next step I selected Country as UK, defined ports as 4 (even though I'm only using 1 line, but according to guide it's the amount of ports the device has)
      * Dial delay left as Wait for Dial Tone
      * Mode left as Normal then pressed next
      * Next Set the IP address of the SN4114 and pressed next
      * In the next step it says to set channels and I set it to 1 as detected by default.
      * Next the Outbound rules I left everything blank and put route 1 as Patton device with strip 0 digits.
      * Then I generated the config file and loaded it onto the SN4114 and pressed reload on the SN4114.
      * After the device came back up, I tried to make outbound call and it just doesnt work. I keep getting Busy tone.

    So I thought maybe it's not FXO and FXS that I have to add, so deleted it and started over to add the Gateway again. But this time as the model I selected Patton 4 Port FXS. Problem is that when I select this, it asks me to map extensions to the 4 ports. So not sure what i'm supposed to do there as I do not really want to assigned the port to an extension.
     
  2. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    65
    When you initially selected fxo and 4 ports, did 3cx provide a screen then showing the 4 ports with their trunk number, auithid, password?

    If so, did the ports show as registered afterwards?

    If so, do you have outbound routes configured......and inbound as well which point to the device?
     
  3. ahmed24

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put 4 ports but used only one channel and at the end the 3cx did show me the virtual extension number, auth_id and password. I didnt check to see if it was registered, which section do I go to?
     
  4. ahmed24

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked the Port/Trunks section in 3CX and the Patton gateway shows up a registered(idle) But when I make a call using the outbound route i just keep getting a line busy tone. There are 4 ports on the patton, do I nee to specify which port I am using?
     
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,123
    Likes Received:
    330
    You outbound rule(s) is probably why you are having issues. They have to be more specific about the number you are actually dialling.

    http://www.3cx.com/blog/voip-howto/outb ... e-example/

    The 3CX server log will show you how a call routes and any "difficulties" it encounters.
     
  6. ahmed24

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    leejor, thanks. I've tuned the outbound rules and still no luck. I keep getting busy tone and looking at the activity log it gives me error: 600 Busy Everywhere for that event. I have my telephone line plugged into port 0 on the SN4114.

    Even when following online guides, the online guides seem to show 3CX asking more questions and actually allowing you to select the model of the Patton but my 3CX is not doing any of that.
     
  7. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,123
    Likes Received:
    330
    Could you post the log, from the point of dialling to the call ending?

    You can "X" out some of the digits in the dialled number if you want.
     
  8. ahmed24

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is the Event Log just has a repeat of the following two lines everytime I attempt to make a call:

    • Call or Registration to 0800XXXXXX@(Ln.90001@Patton) has failed. [ V4 172.16.0.3:5060 UDP target domain=unspecified mFlowKey=944 ] replied: 600 Busy Everywhere; from IP:172.16.0.3:5060

      Device 90001@(Ln.90001@Patton) had no available outgoing trunk(s) for Call(47)



    Here's the Activity Log:

    • 15-Apr-2016 17:54:10.388 [CM503003]: Call(C:46): Call to <sip:0800XXXXXX@172.16.0.3:5060> has failed; Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:46:04.813 Call to T:Line:90001>>0800XXXXXX@[Dev:sip:90001@172.16.0.3:5060] from L:44.1[Extn] failed, cause: Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:46:04.790 [CM503003]: Call(C:44): Call to <sip:0800XXXXXX@172.16.0.3:5060> has failed; Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:42:19.772 Call to T:Line:90001>>0800XXXXXX@[Dev:sip:90001@172.16.0.3:5060] from L:42.1[Extn] failed, cause: Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:42:19.747 [CM503003]: Call(C:42): Call to <sip:0800XXXXXX@172.16.0.3:5060> has failed; Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:34:58.108 Call to T:Line:90001>>0800XXXXXX@[Dev:sip:90001@172.16.0.3:5060] from L:40.1[Extn] failed, cause: Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:34:58.093 [CM503003]: Call(C:40): Call to <sip:0800XXXXXX@172.16.0.3:5060> has failed; Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:33:46.080 [Flow] Target endpoint for 07XXXXXXXXX can not be built!
      15-Apr-2016 17:13:03.875 Call to T:Line:90001>>07XXXXXXXXX@[Dev:sip:90001@172.16.0.3:5060] from L:37.1[Extn] failed, cause: Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:13:03.852 [CM503003]: Call(C:37): Call to <sip:07XXXXXXXXX@172.16.0.3:5060> has failed; Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:06:07.569 Call to T:Line:90001>>07XXXXXXXXX@[Dev:sip:90001@172.16.0.3:5060] from L:35.1[Extn] failed, cause: Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:06:07.548 [CM503003]: Call(C:35): Call to <sip:07XXXXXXXXX@172.16.0.3:5060> has failed; Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:05:56.915 Call to T:Line:90001>>0800XXXXXX@[Dev:sip:90001@172.16.0.3:5060] from L:33.1[Extn] failed, cause: Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:05:56.894 [CM503003]: Call(C:33): Call to <sip:0800XXXXXX@172.16.0.3:5060> has failed; Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:03:56.331 Call to T:Line:90001>>0800XXXXXX@[Dev:sip:90001@172.16.0.3:5060] from L:31.1[Extn] failed, cause: Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:03:56.307 [CM503003]: Call(C:31): Call to <sip:0800XXXXXX@172.16.0.3:5060> has failed; Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:03:28.479 Call to T:Line:90001>>0800XXXXXX@[Dev:sip:90001@172.16.0.3:5060] from L:29.1[Extn] failed, cause: Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:03:28.453 [CM503003]: Call(C:29): Call to <sip:0800XXXXXX@172.16.0.3:5060> has failed; Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:02:04.190 Call to T:Line:90001>>0800XXXXXX@[Dev:sip:90001@172.16.0.3:5060] from L:27.1[Extn] failed, cause: Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:02:04.174 [CM503003]: Call(C:27): Call to <sip:0800XXXXXX@172.16.0.3:5060> has failed; Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:00:27.964 Call to T:Line:90001>>0800XXXXXX@[Dev:sip:90001@172.16.0.3:5060] from L:25.1[Extn] failed, cause: Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:00:27.942 [CM503003]: Call(C:25): Call to <sip:0800XXXXXX@172.16.0.3:5060> has failed; Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:00:19.116 Call to T:Line:90001>>0800XXXXXX@[Dev:sip:90001@172.16.0.3:5060] from L:23.1[Extn] failed, cause: Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 17:00:19.095 [CM503003]: Call(C:23): Call to <sip:0800XXXXXX@172.16.0.3:5060> has failed; Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 16:54:03.202 Call to T:Line:90001>>0800XXXXXX@[Dev:sip:90001@172.16.0.3:5060] from L:21.1[Extn] failed, cause: Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 16:54:03.184 [CM503003]: Call(C:21): Call to <sip:0800XXXXXX@172.16.0.3:5060> has failed; Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 16:16:57.053 Call to T:Line:90001>>0800XXXXXX@[Dev:sip:90001@172.16.0.3:5060] from L:19.1[Extn] failed, cause: Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 16:16:57.035 [CM503003]: Call(C:19): Call to <sip:0800XXXXXX@172.16.0.3:5060> has failed; Cause: 600 Busy Everywhere/INVITE from 172.16.0.3:5060
      15-Apr-2016 16:16:49.538 [Flow] Target endpoint for 90001 can not be built!
      15-Apr-2016 16:16:33.737 [Flow] Target endpoint for 90000 can not be built!
      15-Apr-2016 16:13:56.322 [CM102001]: Authentication failed for AuthFail Recv Req REGISTER from 172.16.0.3:5060 tid=aa6024f647929a59a Call-ID=0fedb5c7080f5c49:
      REGISTER sip:172.16.0.2:5060 SIP/2.0
      Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 172.16.0.3:5060;branch=z9hG4bKaa6024f647929a59a
      Max-Forwards: 70
      Contact: <sip:90001@172.16.0.3:5060>
      To: <sip:90001@172.16.0.2>
      From: <sip:90001@172.16.0.2>;tag=f1407a2a81
      Call-ID: 0fedb5c7080f5c49
      CSeq: 22161 REGISTER
      Expires: 300
      Proxy-Authorization: Digest username="90001",realm="3CXPhoneSystem",nonce="414d535c0d21963448:2afd8a2d1ef278b17b520768a59eba45",uri="sip:172.16.0.2:5060",response="50db443ae9a57a89dd248c74f585106b",algorithm=MD5
      User-Agent: Patton SN4114 JS EUI 00A0BA096E8A R6.T 2016-03-14 H323 SIP FXS FXO M5T SIP Stack/4.2.14.18
      Content-Length: 0
     
  9. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,123
    Likes Received:
    330
    Everything seems to be "dealing with" 90001 (or 90000 in one instance), which are trunk designations. Where is the extension information originating the call ?

    Are you able to place extension to extension calls?
     
  10. ahmed24

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes extension to extension calls all work fine.
     
  11. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,123
    Likes Received:
    330
    And there is...

    Which is not good.
     
  12. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,123
    Likes Received:
    330
    Which IP is the gateway set to use, and are the trunk settings in 3CX set to "send" calls to the same IP?
     
  13. ahmed24

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think that failed Auth is when I deleted the PSTN Gateway to try and add it again and it was failing. The Patton Gateway IP is 172.16.0.3

    I clicked on ports/trunks and the 90001 virtual extension is registered but when i click on it to edit it there isnt any trunk settings to set to "send" calls to the same IP
     
  14. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11,123
    Likes Received:
    330
    In the trunk group you created in 3CX (and at the minute i don't have one in front of me to refer to), there is a setting for the IP of the gateway(which you would have datafilled). Be sure that it, (and the port number) matches the IP you actually assigned the device. You also set how many simultaneous calls the gateway will handle.

    If you auto provisioned, then this information would have been used to create the file. If you changed things (the IP?) since the original file was created, then you will have to generate a new file and provision again.
     
  15. ahmed24

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    IP address does match, it was auto generated config file through the wizard. The only place I can edit the IP address of the gateway is in the section PSTN gateways. Not in the ports/trunks section.
     
  16. ahmed24

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I followed the following guide 100% http://www.3cx.com/voip-gateways/patton ... de-sn4112/

    Did every step of it and it all matches up with these steps. But still no success. Only difference is in step 2 where I changed ports from the example 2 to 4 as my device has 4 ports. And in step 4 where it says set channels, I set it to 1 as I only have one telephone line going into port 0
     
  17. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    65
    You should check the blacklist to see if the IP is there. It could be that it failed the authentication too many time.

    Set the number of ports to 1, set the channels to 1, plug the line into the first port and when setting up define where you want the call to go. Get inbound calling working and we can then check outbound...if it does not.
     
  18. ahmed24

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply.

    It's not blacklisted. However, I have made a slight breakthrough. I tried to set ports as 1 and channels as 1 but this time I was getting a 404 Not Found/INVITE error in the activity log and i wasnt getting busy tone. So decided to set it to 4 ports and 4 channels and this time it attempts to call the number and has one ring and says connected but it doesnt actually place the call via the gateway it just stays silent. What could be wrong now?
     
  19. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    305
    Any issues with Patton I call their Tech Support. They are really good at figuring these issues out.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,086
    Likes Received:
    65
    The incoming line needs to be in port 1 and channel and port also need to 1
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.