Confirm that 3cx can dial out

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Jetcityjules, Feb 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jetcityjules

Hi,

I am completely new to VoIP and need a solution today. I am unclear on one thing though: I'm going to have my 888 number forwarded to 3CX, do I have to have some kind of outgoing VoIP plan established for 3CX to be able to dial my remote users or extensions? Do my remote / ext POTS phones need to have a converter to make them SIP?

Thanks,
    Julie

2. alexmallia

alexmallia New Member
    3CX Support

If you have remote extensions setup (as per http://www.3cx.com/user-manual/ Updated link) and connected, you can just dial to these from any extension. There is no need to set up any dial plan.

Same applies for incoming call. If it is diverted to an extension which is a remote extension (set up as specified on http://www.3cx.com/user-manual/ Updated link), it will ring without needing any dial plan.

regards

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Henk

Henk Member

To use 3CX as your phone system, all your phones in the office need to be VoIP enabled.

To use 3CX to call external to a POTS phone, you need a VoIP provider that allows this to happen. What a VoIP provider does is gets your VoIP phone call and routs this to an POTS phone, they do some smarts. What are your remote users? If they are on your company network they can use VoIP phones controlled by 3CX.

H.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. scruffybob

I don't think that's the complete answer to the question.

The basic interface to the 3CX is SIP. This means that any incoming call has to be converted to SIP by something before it can be routed by the 3CX. This something may be:
    1. A external VOIP provider. (e.g. the SIP packets come in from the outside world over the internet)