connect remote user SNOM300 phone to 3cx using port forward

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by russellcrowe, Jul 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. russellcrowe

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    need to know how to connect remote user Snom300 phone to 3cx phone system without going through a vpn

    e.g the problem we have is QOS on home users.
    the home user will have just 1 adsl line for voip and data
    we normally use draytek routers and this supports QOS
    so if we can set up phone to work using ports then we can control bandwith.
    to control bandwith in a vpn for single remote users is very expensive to do.

    what ports would we need to open at the office /3cx server firewall

    thanks
    russell
     
  2. jimmyC

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    forwarding port 5060
     
  3. russellcrowe

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    if i try that the snom300 does not register with the 3cx system
    thought might need other ports
    thanks
    russell
     
  4. jimmyC

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    My installation work fine with 5060 only (TCP & UDP)


    From 3CX MANUAL:

    Port 5060 (TCP and UDP) - Used for SIP protocol transmission – must be a static mapping, no port translation
    Port 5090 (TCP) - Used for 3CX tunnel (if tunnel is enabled)
    Port 9000-9015 (UDP) - Used for RTP protocol for incoming and outgoing calls
     
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,356
    Likes Received:
    224
    Do the 3cx system logs show the Snom300 even attempting to register? The 3CX is behind a router, are you using DDNS? Do you have stun enabled on the remote Snom set?
     
  6. russellcrowe

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have not looked at logs
    but using fixed ipadress and default settings on snom not changed anything to do with stun?
    phones work through vpn and locally

    firewall we are using in sonicwall and tried draytek
    thanks
    russell
     
  7. russellcrowe

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    with port 5060 udp and tcp the phone does register but when try to call e.g an extension forbidden message on phone

    have tried looking in logs but did not make much sense
    thanks
    russell
     
  8. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,356
    Likes Received:
    224
    The logs would help. If you could post the registration and a call attempt. The Snom has a public Ip at the far end or is it behind a router?
     
  9. russellcrowe

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    i will do a test on monday when back in office
    and get copy of logs
    at the remote user end this is behind a draytek router

    the 3cx office end has a sonicwall with port forwarding open for 5060
    thanks
    Russell
     
  10. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,356
    Likes Received:
    224
    Do you not have ports 9000 to 9015 forwarded at the 3CX end as well?
     
  11. russellcrowe

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    no
    should they be tcp and udp?
    what do those ports do
    thanks
    Russell
     
  12. jimmyC

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    UDP.
    Port 9000-9015 (UDP) - Used for RTP protocol for incoming and outgoing calls
     
  13. russellcrowe

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jimmy
    thanks for your help
    still having problems getting snom phone to work using port forwarding

    using lan to lan vpn on routers phone works ok

    so i have openedport 5060 and 9000-9015 on firewall at 3cx server end
    remote end using draytek router

    only thing i have changed on the phone was ip address this is now the external ip address of router at the 3cx end
    it was lan ip address of 3cx server before when using vpn

    when i try and call extension get message forbidden:146
    do i need to change any other settings on snom phone?

    any ideas
    thanks
    russell
     
  14. russellcrowe

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    see copy of log

    looks like it is close to working
    extension 146 is the remote extension
    you can see it registers but when calling extension it fails
    port 2057 what is this for?
    any ideas

    ---------------------------------------------------------


    14:24:01.189 [CM503008]: Call(3012): Call is terminated

    14:24:01.189 [CM503015]: Call(3012): Attempt to reach <sip:146@192.168.10.12;user=phone> failed. Reason: Forbidden

    14:24:01.189 [CM503003]: Call(3012): Call to sip:146@62.133.6.124 has failed; Cause: 403 Use Proxy; from IP:192.168.69.20:2057

    14:24:00.892 [CM503024]: Call(3012): Calling Ext:Ext.146@[Dev:sip:146@192.168.69.20:2057;line=lhdez2b1]

    14:24:00.876 [CM503004]: Call(3012): Route 1: Ext:Ext.146@[Dev:sip:146@192.168.69.20:2057;line=lhdez2b1]

    14:24:00.876 [CM503010]: Making route(s) to <sip:146@192.168.10.12;user=phone>

    14:24:00.876 [CM505001]: Ext.240: Device info: Device Identified: [Man: Snom;Mod: 3xx series;Rev: General] Capabilities:[reinvite, replaces, able-no-sdp, recvonly] UserAgent: [snom300/6.5.15] Transport: [sip:192.168.10.12:5060]

    14:24:00.876 [CM503001]: Call(3012): Incoming call from Ext.240 to <sip:146@192.168.10.12;user=phone>

    14:23:45.408 [CM504001]: Ext.146: new contact is registered. Contact(s): [sip:146@192.168.69.20:2057;line=lhdez2b1/146]

    14:23:04.689 [CM504008]: Fax Service: registered as sip:888@192.168.10.12:5060 with contact sip:888@192.168.10.12:5100;user=phone

    14:22:55.626 [CM504001]: Ext.142: new contact is registered. Contact(s): [sip:142@192.168.10.42:2049;line=2wenqf6r/142]
     
  15. russellcrowe

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have now added a stun.3cx.com server setting on the snom phone and this has helped

    i can now dial the remote extension and it rings but i can hear them but they can not hear me
    but remote extension can not dial any other extension

    so this must be firewall issues i think
    not sure which end

    any ideas
     
  16. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,356
    Likes Received:
    224
    If EXT 142 is located on another LAN it should be showing as registering with the public IP of the router at it's end NOT the 192.168.x10.42 private IP. 3Cx will have no way of knowing where to send calls to that set, it will try on the local LAN then fail. Generally the port is 5060, 5061, 5062 etc., not 2049, but the port might not be a problem. I suspect that there is a setting in the set that need to be changed to allow it to register properly and send out the public IP, perhaps somewhere near the STUN settings? Haven't used the SNOM sets myself so I'm not familiar with the specifics on those models.
     
  17. ziptalk

    ziptalk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recall that the Sonicwall is not supported since it cannot do direct port forwarding. Certainly with the issue you're having I.e. No two-way audio does relate to the port fowarding being translated and probably accounting for that 2057 port that showed up.

    I could be wrong but I'm pretty certain 3CX don't support sonicwall for those reasons.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. russellcrowe

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    if sonicwall firewalls are not support
    does anyone have a list of supported firewall

    we have lots of customers using sonicwall so rules them out of using 3cx with replacing firewall

    list would be usefull
    plus i do not understand how one of the leading brands of firewall can not be used with 3cx
     
  19. Discovery Technology

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could try playing around with the outbound proxy settings in the handset and 'pbx delivers audio' setting in the PBX extension to see if this may help with your audio issues.

    Good move on setting up the STUN server settings - that was definitely causing your registrations issues otherwise.

    Most audio problems related to how extensions are behaving are usually related to these settings - some handsets like them turned on, others do not (such as Cisco, Linksys and Polycom)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. russellcrowe

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    only issue i can not solve at moment is the remote handset can not dial.

    local handsets can dial and talk to the remote handset
    but if remote handset dials get forbidden message

    so not sure if this is firewall or settings on snom phone or 3cx

    it seems getting handset to work from remote site is very difficult
    which is meant to be one of the selling points of 3cx over traditional pbx system

    my setup is
    3cx server behind sonicwall TZ180
    remote handset behind Draytek 2820
    phone is snom300

    configured to use port forwarding
    as per above it nearly works

    anyone ever got this working with similar equipment

    thanks
    russell
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.