Connecting 3cx to Asterisk

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by DOSIT, Aug 26, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DOSIT

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I require assistance with the following scenario.

    I have:
    1 x 3cx server - IP 172.24.220.10
    2 x Asterisk server - IP 10.50.0.11 / 10.50.0.12 with a Nat'd IP of 10.50.0.13 that listens on port 5060.
    Our PRI's are currently connected to the Asterisk servers which are set up as HA.

    I want to connect the 3cx server to the Asterisk servers so that they can communicate with each other, meaning I want to call extensions on Asterisk from 3cx and vice versa.

    In asterisk I've set the trunk up as follows:

    PEER Details:
    username=90002
    type=peer
    secret=90002
    host=172.24.220.10
    context=from-trunk
    qualify=yes
    insecure=invite

    USER Details:
    type=peer
    insecure=invite
    context=from-trunk
    outboundproxy=172.24.220.10

    Registration String:
    90002:90002@172.24.220.10:5060/90002

    You'll notice that I've provided the username and password, I'll change that once I've managed to get the 2 PBX's connected and talking to each other.

    On 3cx side I've set up the Asterisk server as a PSTN Gateway providing the Nat'd IP address of 10.50.0.13 and the 90002 as the Authentication ID and Authentication Password.

    Looking at the 3cx Ports/Trunks Status screen I see that the Gateway is in a "Not Registered" state and looking at Asterisk I see the following:

    *lilo:/var/log/asterisk # tail -f full | grep "172.24.220.10"
    [Aug 26 14:42:38] NOTICE[16706] chan_sip.c: -- Registration for '90002@172.24.220.10' timed out, trying again (Attempt #1)

    I can ping the 3cx server from the Asterisk server without any problems.

    The reason from this excersize is that I want to move everything (10+ years worth of data) off our antiquated Asterisk infrastructure and onto our snazzy new 3cx system.

    Any assistance / feedback would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,594
    Likes Received:
    255
    Never having used Asterisk, I can't help with the setting details in that PBX. In general, connecting two PBXs together can happen in one of three ways...

    Trunk to line
    Line to trunk
    Trunk to trunk

    The last being the most flexible. To do trunk to trunk, you should be able to use the Bridge trunk option in 3CX. That can be implemented in one of two ways, as a master, or a slave. One will register to a SIP server, the other will accept registrations.

    http://www.3cx.com/docs/connecting-offices-bridges/
    http://www.3cx.com/3cxacademy/videos/advanced/3cx-bridge-configuration/


    I'm not clear on what the "10+ years worth of data", that has to move from one system to the other as 3CX will have to be configured from scratch, in your case, as you can't "transfer" a configuration from Asterisk.
     
  3. DOSIT

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks leejor.

    I've tried setting up the various trunks methods and a bridged connection without success.

    Basically what I need to do is gradually recreate everything that's on the Asterisk server on the 3cx server with as little downtime as possible, which is why I want communication working between the two PBX's.

    Asterisk Grep info shows me the following:

    [Aug 27 14:09:22] NOTICE[16706] chan_sip.c: -- Registration for '90002@172.24.220.10' timed out, trying again (Attempt #367)
    [Aug 27 14:09:42] NOTICE[16706] chan_sip.c: -- Registration for '90002@172.24.220.10' timed out, trying again (Attempt #368)

    lilo:/var/log/asterisk # ping 172.24.220.10
    PING 172.24.220.10 (172.24.220.10) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from 172.24.220.10: icmp_seq=1 ttl=127 time=1.27 ms
    64 bytes from 172.24.220.10: icmp_seq=2 ttl=127 time=1.70 ms


    And when I look in the 3cx Server Event Log at the Bridged connection information I've created I see the following.

    Registration at cptasterisk01 has failed. Destination (sip:90002@10.50.0.13:5060) is not reachable, DNS error resolving FQDN, or service is not available.

    Once again, any advice/feedback would be greatly appreciated! :eek:
     
  4. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    211
    I successfully connected a 3cx system and a Grand-stream UCM using Trunks. Both ends just had the others IP Address. They were actually on opposites side of the country - and using the Public IP Address. I do not recall it being a big issue for registration. The routing was a bit wonky.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,594
    Likes Received:
    255
    I suspect, that at this point, it is a network issue. If you have the Asterisk registering with a Slave Bridge trunk at the 3CX end, then you should see a 3CX log of an attempt, if it is able to get through.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.