Connecting to 3cx tunnel (somewhat resolved)

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by FGCUHank, Feb 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FGCUHank

    FGCUHank New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, I'm trying to connect a remote extension via the 3cx tunnel.

    I have installed the 2 user demo license.
    Using the 3cx softphone
    Port 5090 tcp is open on my router and from an outside connection I can telnet to the port and see something is listening.
    On the remote client I tried setting both the dns name and actual IP address of the server.
    I do have the internal IP of the server defined as required on the phone.
    I have changed and matched the passwords on tunnel and the phone plus restarted the tunnel service.
    And it still does not connect.

    I shut down the remote phone and installed the 3cx phone in house.
    Confirmed connection with the extension login credentials. Not using the tunnel
    The internal IP of the sever is defined on the phone as required.
    I tried both the in office and out of office IP's. I allowed this connection to pass through/round the router and can telnet to the port by both the internal IP address plus port numer and external IP plus port number.

    Internally the phone does not connect to the tunnel. Here is the debug from the 3cx soft phone. I have confirmed the passwords. They are 8 character long, I also used 3cx as the password on both ends like the example doc and the same condition occurred.

    ************ debug paused ***********************
    ************ debug resumed **********************
    Tunnel has been disconnected by remote end
    Tunnel is attempting to connect remote end
    Tunnel connection established
    Phone is no longer connected
    Tunnel send from phone to PBX: REGISTER
    Tunnel has been disconnected by remote end
    Tunnel is attempting to connect remote end
    Tunnel connection established
    Tunnel send from phone to PBX: REGISTER
    Tunnel has been disconnected by remote end
    Tunnel is attempting to connect remote end
    Tunnel connection established
    Tunnel send from phone to PBX: REGISTER
    ************ debug paused ***********************


    Any thoughts?

    Thank
     
  2. Vali_3CX

    Vali_3CX Well-Known Member
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    67
    Re: Connecting to 3cx tunnel

    Hi
    "Tunnel has been disconnected by remote end" usually shows a tunnel authentication issue (phone credentials not being involved). Could you specify phone's version (as displayed in its About menu) and PBX' one?
    Regards
    vali
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. FGCUHank

    FGCUHank New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Connecting to 3cx tunnel

    Thank you for your reply.

    Both are downloads from the 3cx site on Thursday.

    The phone is 4.0.10858.0
    The switch is 8.0.10824.716

    Thanks
     
  4. FGCUHank

    FGCUHank New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Connecting to 3cx tunnel

    Semi-sorted this out.

    I noticed that I was unable to change the listening port through the 3cx interface and that I can't restart the RTP service through the interface.

    So I tried the default password "abc" and the tunnel connection works.

    Are there limitations to the tunnel in the 2 user version?

    Can I go into the registry or data somewhere to change this?

    On a side note I have 3cx running on a big vmware instance of server 2003 with 2x and exchange on it with multiple nics.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.