Correct number for DDI

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by Peter Szabo, Mar 16, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Peter Szabo

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I want to configure our 3cx phone system. We has a working phone system and its work like this: we have a base number +43 720 *** *** | xxx and the xxx means the ddi what we can choose freely in 3CX (000-999), my question is what kind of number is it and where can we buy number like this , so the telephone companies send the call to our system even if we type longer numbers (currently with the tried numbers just the main trunk number works if we type longer not). We want in the other system that we have a number and after the number we can type 4 digits(ddi) what we choose free in 3CX.

    Regards,
    Peter
     
  2. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,311
    Likes Received:
    249
    Not clear on what you are trying to do...
    If you want DID's that match your internal extension list, you will need to procure a block of DID's from your provider. I for example use Flowroute, and they sell blocks of DID's 25,50,100, etc - I pay a Setup fee for these, and a monthly fee for each one, usually around $1.00, maybe more depending on the "value" of the number. ie: a number like 555-0000 might be worth more than 546-7485.
    Each of these DID's that you procure are added to the inbound rules of 3cx and mapped to goto a specific extension.
    By the way, I am not sure what the | is for in the phone number.

    The other way to do this is to use an IVR (Digital receptionist) - greet the person and ask them to enter the persons extension, or use dial by name.

    Hope this helps... Here to answer more questions as I am sure you will have some.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Peter Szabo

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    the | i meant only to separate our main trunk number from the ddi-s number, yes i know the IVR but my boss want range of ddis after a main number with 0000-9999, so we want to buy a number from someone who can sell us this. And a looking for this.
     
  4. Saqqara

    Saqqara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    165
    You need to speak to current telecom provider and see what numbers are available.

    Your biggest issue will be are the numbers you want being available. If your main number +43 720 000 001, if companies already have numbers in the block of DDI numbers you want these will not be available.

    DDI numbers are not appended to the end of your main number, you have one main number and DDI's are associated with the main number (DDI numbers do not have to follow your main number, can be totally different)

    Example -

    Main Number +43 720 000 001, DDI numbers could be +43 720 000 002 to +43 720 000 010

    Main Number +43 720 000 001, DDI numbers could be +43 850 000 001 to +43 850 000 010
     
  5. Peter Szabo

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0

    i mean the DDI will be after +43 720 000 002 this number, so our number will be 15 digit long , our other system works like this just there is only + 3 number for DDI and the numbers look like this +43 850 000 001 111 or +43 850 000 001 112 and etc
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.