CTI dialling behaviour hardcoded in v14 SP1 Client- make it configurable

Discussion in 'Ideas' started by BarneyC, Oct 29, 2015.

  1. BarneyC

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    CTI dialling in v14SP1 does not work as it did in v14 Client if not on an RFC 1918 LAN. i.e having a LAN address in the following ranges:
    10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255,
    172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255,
    192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255

    If not in the above ranges all that happens is makecall gets sent to the phone.

    I would like to request that the restriction to RFC1918 networks is removed and/or be made configurable to include other ranges.
     
  2. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,285
    Likes Received:
    248
    Without knowing your motives I tend to disagree with this.
    Why would someone not follow RFC1918?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. AlexHeylin

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    I can give you one real life example. A client that for legacy reasons uses internet IPs on their internal LAN. Don't ask why in this instance cos I can't tell you - but they do, and they need it to work. Pls also remember that this is how the Internet used to work. I used to work for somewhere that had 2 x /16 of real Internet routable and used it for everything on their internal networks because that's how the Internet was designed. Make current config the default by all means, but allow override.