Custom Speed Dial Pause

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by JStellato, Aug 18, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JStellato

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    We are hooking up a Cyberdata Paging Server. I wanted to create a single custom speed dial that could call the paging server, and then dial the page code. The problem is, the paging server waits about 2 seconds before accepting input.

    My idea was to put a pause in the custom speed dial, i.e.

    199#,,01

    Extention
    Hashtag to Dial
    Two Comma Wait
    01 Page Group

    However 3CX seems to be ignoring my commas. Am I using the wrong syntax?
     
  2. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    273
    Did you try P
    I don't think it works... if I recall - it is not a STANDARD in the SIP.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,833
    Likes Received:
    294
    The only way you could do it is a speed-call button on an analogue set. One that allowed a pause to be programmed.
     
  4. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    61
    A comma is a throwback to the Hayes modem instruction set. It was oftentimes used to instruct the modem to wait after the initial dial string in order to give the PBX or other system enough time for the outside line to be identified and go off-hook and even input in a charge number when calling cards were big time.
     
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,833
    Likes Received:
    294
    Unfortunately, in the majority of cases where a pause is desired, the type of signalling required after the pause is DTMF. This requires that the device initiating the call is capable of doing this.
     
  6. JStellato

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok thanks, I was trying to simplify the paging to a one button configuration. I'll just bail on the multicast solution and just use the page SIP feature
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.