Dial by Name V9

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by mchristsen, Jul 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mchristsen

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have upgraded from Version 8 to Version 9.

    I like the improved prompt on the Dial By Name, much nicer.
    However, one Extension only has a 2 digit last name, Wu.

    I get two results:
    1. 3CX sits an waits for the third key to be pressed.
    2. Returns Extension not found.

    My first questions is, does less than 3 letters work for Dial By Name?
    Second, if it only works with 3 or more, how do i overcome this?

    Michael.
     
  2. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    304
    Does pressing the octothorp (#) help?
     
  3. mchristsen

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    3
    I apologize for reviving this thread, but the problem still persists.

    When an extension only has a 2 letter last name, the Dial by name does not work. Pressing # or * just repeats the dial by name. Pressing 1 or 0 at the end (for a space or something like that) gives you extension not found.

    I am currently runnning Version 9 SP3.

    Any ideas?

    Michael.
     
  4. MichaelB

    MichaelB Member
    3CX Support

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi, 2 things if you read the manual Page 49 - you will see step by step how Call By Name works.
    Call By name only works when you dial the first 3 letters of the last name.

    Also when you call the IVR followed by the number to use call by name - IVR will prompty you to Select the FIRST 3 Letters of the last name.

    We cant match all combination because there are alot.
    Call by name works as described above.
    Thanks and Regards
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. LeonidasG

    LeonidasG Support Team
    Staff Member 3CX Support

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,504
    Likes Received:
    100

    Unfortunately we cannot change this functionality to work with the 2 first letters of the last name as it would create more trouble than fix.
    Maybe you can rename Wu, to Woo or Wuu?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.