Dial By name

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by ardentsupport, Jul 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ardentsupport

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have the dial by name enabled via the DR. When you hit 8 to dial by name it doesn't always prompt you to enter the first 3 letters of the last name. Half the time it just forwards to the operator. I have tried it numerous times and it is very random.

    any ideas?
     
  2. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    58
    This is usually associated to the DTMF tones not being understood correctly by the system. This, of course, assumes that the input at the phone does indeed correspond to a valid name. You did not indicate if the issue is observed using a particular type of phone so -

    Use a landline analog phone and test, this should be the baseline and all should work well
    Use a cell/mobile and test. All should work well, but if not then see if the settings of the cell allow for a timing setting of the DTMF tones (some do and perhaps set too short)
    Use a IP-Phone and test, if one works they should all work provided that they are all set to use the same style of DTMF generation and duration (look in the phone using its web interface and you will see settings)
     
  3. ardentsupport

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    All the attempts where made from the same cell phone.

    thanks,
    Dave
     
  4. jpillow

    jpillow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    When you dial by name you have to be sure that the users record both their actual greeting as welll as their name other wise thosee users will not be found.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. lneblett

    lneblett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    58
    Then, as suggested, look for the setting on your mobile to adjust dtmf. To confirm, try from a landline analog phone.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.