DID/DDI Flexible Mapping

Discussion in 'Ideas' started by cel, Nov 15, 2016.

DID/DDI Flexible Mapping 5 5 5votes
5/5, 5 votes

  1. cel

    cel

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    23
    It would be good to have the possibility to create a “flexible” mapping instead of assigning a DDI per user. I think we could set for example a wild card like “XXX” (last 3 digits of the incoming number) and map these to extensions, ring groups or queues. Is there a reason why it must be put fix into the PBX? These setting would make life easier. An additional “?” wildcard could be used to route any unknown DDI/DID to the operator for example.
     
  2. cel

    cel

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    23
    No one likes that idea? I think it would be useful!
     
  3. VictorSP

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    12
    I think this functionality was on v12 but removed later. We cannot make one DDI and one Inbound Rule per user in large companies, using wildcards make 3CX deployment easiest.

    Please 3CX team, check case nº 134490 related with this functionality.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. VictorSP

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    12
    Just to clarify this situation, for example the ISP has provided to our customer a range of DDI (+34 91555XXXX) so they want to assign directly DDI to extension (ex. +34 915550001 ext 0001). Now in 3CX we have to create one DDI and inbound rule per each extension/DDI of the range. It's too much time to configuring them. It's easiest if we only create a general DDI/Rule +34 91555XXXX and PBX makes autoassignement to extension, matching last 4 digits.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    273
    Why not just create an Excel template and import via CSV on the Inbound Rules Page?
    This import automatically adds the DID to the Trunk.

    Its not like you need to remap all of these every day of the week... Its part of the system or new trunk setup.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. VictorSP

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    12
    Using import option, how do you select the SIP Trunk which you want to associate the DID and Inbound Rules of the CSV? When you import Inbound Rules, DIDs must be just created on the SIP Trunk. If you have more than one SIP Trunk I think this option you comment it's not possible but I'm not sure, not tested.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. craigreilly

    craigreilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,397
    Likes Received:
    273
    yup... no problem. you do need to know the [port]. easiest way is to create a test rule - then export and see the value of the trunk [port] in column 5.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. narkumas

    narkumas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    29
  9. Silly English Kniggit

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2017
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    87
    Use a CSV is the way to go here. 3CX has options that rely on individual inbound rules. And there's always exceptions, which just makes things tricky.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...