Different trunk use different DTMF

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by mixig, Nov 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mixig

    mixig Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    12
    Hi,

    there are two SIP trunk on 3cx (v11). Some numbers are dialed via fisrt one, some number via second trunk. One is supporting rfc 2833 another one inband. Dtmf type is configued on the phones so there can be only one type od dtmf.. Can this issue be solved somehow on 3cx (define global dtmf for each trunk)?

    Thanks
     
  2. markshehan

    markshehan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    You cannot do it by sip trunk.

    Are both trunks sip providers?

    If one goes through a gateway can you adjust the gateway settings to handle the problem?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,859
    Likes Received:
    301
    Depending on the particular (make of) phone (or ATA), they can sometimes be set to use multiple type DTMF SIP methods (using the correct one ass needed) or, to an "auto" setting. It may require some trial and error.
     
  4. mixig

    mixig Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    12
    both of them are sip trunk provider, there is no any kind of gateway between 3cx and provider... now when leejor mention... grandstream (i saw in 1450) has ability for multiple dtmf... worth a try.. I am using yealinks and as far as I know, unfortunately, they don`t support multiple dtmf

    If i remebered... on asterisk dtmf type can be conigured for each sip trunk individually?
     
  5. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,859
    Likes Received:
    301
    Logically, if there were a DTMF type setting for each trunk (and I've never seen anything in 3CX), it would infer that the PBX is going to "translate" from whatever method that the set is sending, to whatever method that the provider wants. No?
     
  6. mixig

    mixig Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    12
    yes, pbx is doing translate (i think), this configuration below is from asterisk, it has posibility to configure dtmf per trunk:

    [46.19.209.10]
    host=46.19.209.10
    dtmfmode=rfc2833
    dtmf=rfc2833

    type=peer
    context=from-didww
    insecure=very
    nat=never
    allow=all
     
  7. leejor

    leejor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10,859
    Likes Received:
    301
    I'm not sure if this will be of any help... http://www.3cx.com/blog/voip-howto/dtmf-rfc2833/
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.