Digital Receptionist not working after some time

Discussion in '3CX Phone System - General' started by jlabuelo, Jun 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jlabuelo

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good Morning all

    We are using 3CX as our PBX system and I must say we are quite happy with it now that we found a serious VOIP provider. However we have a problem.

    We have installed 3CX in a Windows XP machine which is connected to a SMC Network router as gateway (Exact name is SMCWGBR14-N).

    Once the system (3CX over WinXP) is started and we register it with our VOIP provider everything works fine. We have also configured a Digital Recepcionist so when someone calls us a message is shown and the caller can select one option pressing 1,2, 3...

    However we have a problem we have not been able to solve yet. Most of the times, once the system has been up for 2 or 3 days.. we suffer two situations

    a) Line gets disconected from VOIP provider so we need to detect it and connect it manually again.

    b) Even line is connected to VOIP provider, and people from outside can reach the Digital Recepcionist... once they press options 1,2,3... nothing happens...seems that Digital Receptionist is not recognizing the options are being pressed. To solve this particular situation we need to
    1) Restart the 3CX system in the Windows XP "server"
    2) Totally restart the SMC router (gateway) (switch off and back on)
    3) Manually register the line with our VOIP provider


    Both situations are quite "unconfortable" as we always discover it as a customer calls our mobiles to complain about our phone.

    our questions here would be:

    1) Is there any way to have a monitor system that in real time can send alarms saying that line is disconnected or at least we can see line is not registered?

    2) How can we solve the issue with the digital recepcionist not recognizing options from time to time??


    Thanks a lot in advance
     
  2. jlabuelo

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there

    None can give us a hand here with these two questions? ..... Today we got again our line unregistered and we noticed it because a customer had to call us by mobile.. it is quite fustrating.

    Any advice will be really helpful.

    Regards
     
  3. aesteve

    aesteve New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    We´re experience the same problem.

    We´re waiting a solution of our VoIp provider. They mind´s that the problem is a register line problem. Try to put the re-register time at 300 and tell us if it works.

    Regards.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. jlabuelo

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there

    Thanks a lot for the suggestion. We have performed the change... however my understanding is that this would affect the "unregistered" problem... but dont know if it is related with the issue we have with people getting in the Digital Receptionist (so line is registered) and even pressing options in their phones (1 Sales ,2 Support,3...) these options are not being recognized by the Digital Receptionist and we have to restart the router (gateway) and the services of the 3CX PBX in the server.

    Do you think both issues are related?... if you think this could be a problem related to the VOIP provider,.. do you know a good VOIP provider in Spain or with Spanish numbers that wont produce these issues?

    Thanks for your help... will let you know how this is doing after resetting the value of re-register to 300

    Cheers
     
  5. aesteve

    aesteve New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    you have two different problems. I experience the problem in " Digital receptionist not work after some time ".

    Regards.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. aesteve

    aesteve New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry,

    the register value is in the options of the VoIp provider.

    Regards.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. aesteve

    aesteve New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    we have two recepcionist ( Office hours and Out of office hours ). studing the problem i see that in out of office hours, the digital recepcionist works fine. The problem is in Office hours. Sometimes delay the voice 50 seconds, 25 seconds. Depending the moment.

    I think now, that is not a VoIp provider problem .

    We continue studing this issue.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. aesteve

    aesteve New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    confirmed. Do you have in the same machine, the server and the client phone system ?. Or the server is non dedicated ?

    If the server is out of a windows user sesion, the system works fine.

    Regards.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. jlabuelo

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Alejandro

    Yes we have the 3CX PBX System in a Windows XP server... but the VOIP Client (The softphone provided by 3cx if you mean this) is installed in each of the pc`s of the users.

    I have other systems running in that machine, an OCR software that we dont use very often, and also a backup system that we use to store some data in that machine.

    What do you mean exactly? should we install this 3CX PBX System in a Linux Dedicated machine...that would be quite a problem as we dont have a lot of Servers in our office. Please let us know

    Thanks again
     
  10. aesteve

    aesteve New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    the 3CX is for Windows. Not for Linux.

    1 .- Do you have a softphone in the same machine that have the Phonesystem ?
    2 .- This server is used for a user like a client machine ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. jlabuelo

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Alejandro

    No in the machine I only have installed the 3CX Server, no other VOIP client is installed in the same machine, and it is a windows XP.

    Hope this answers your question.

    Cheers
     
  12. aesteve

    aesteve New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    People with the same problem with the DTMF said´s that upgrading to the "7.1.7139 22 May 2009" solve the problem. This build solve both problems yo have.

    I hope this help to you.

    Regards.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. jlabuelo

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot Aljandro.... Will try this week and will let you know!

    Thanks once more
     
  14. jlabuelo

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Again Alejandro

    We have downloaded the version you suggested us "7.1.7139 22 May 2009", uninstalled the previous one we had and installed this new one in our PBX Server, but we are finding some problems. First the recovery of the backup of our previous configuration does only work 40%. Lets say only VOIP provider and Office hours are configured, then Digital Receptionist, Extensions Groups... have to be created back again manually.

    But the problem we are finding is not that one, as that could be solved with a little bit of extra work. We are finding lots of problems when we try to use the interface. If we try to add a extension takes forever, if we want to move for example from extensions to groups or Digital Receptionist, some time works, sometimes doesnot.... and now we are only able to get a white IE screen after introducing the login and password in the Login Screen.... the browser (does not matter IE, Firefox..) gets hanged and nothing is shown. We have tried to restart the Web Server (we dont have IIS, picked the one proposed in the installation) and whole 3CX Services (even the physical server ) but does not fix it either...

    did you find these errors when you moved to this version? anything that soulds familiar to you and you know how to solve it?

    Thanks a lot
     
  15. jlabuelo

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey no problem... found a temporary solution. Even I had to create motly all back manually, it works now. For the issue with the MainForm.wgx I solved it clearing the cache of the browsers and restarting the services... wier!!.

    Will let you know how it goes now with the "Registering" and the "Digital Receptionist"

    Thanks for the help
     
  16. aesteve

    aesteve New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Jlabuelo,

    IIS works betther than Cassini. Change it if you can.

    I hope you solve the problem with this release.

    Regards.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. pascallemba

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    We approuve the same problem,
    If we connect from incomming call directly to extention, it work well,
    but if we connect to digital receptionist we lost the connection.

    To try to resolve this problem, we reinstall the 3cx phone system, after configuration it work well using digitalreceptionist connection only two days after the same problem begin. The problem is not from Provider, this problem is from IVR.
    We hope that 3cx will resolve this problem.

    Pascal
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.